Skip to main content

U.S. History - Civil War: Background Information

This guide will help you find reliable information on the U.S. Civil War, in both print and online sources.

Overview Sources

Overview sources are great tools with which to begin a research project. They may be helpful for obtaining a general overview of a subject, and they may also help in the narrowing of research topics and in placing a topic in the proper context.

Some sources, such as subject dictionaries, will provide an introduction to the specific language of a subject or discipline. Sources may cover a fairly broad subject area or a particular aspect or topic in the discipline.

Entries will often include a bibliography, and they may reference additional related books, articles, documents, and other useful sources.

Search Tips

Look for encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books with keyword searches in the library catalog by adding the term "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" to the keyword search.

Films

Films on Demand logo

Films on Demand is an exciting new resource purchased by STLCC libraries, presenting films in many subject areas including history.  Films can be viewed in their entirety or section by section, making them ideal for presentations. These resources are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).

Once logged into the database, try a keyword search such as "Civil War" or "United States" AND "history" or on whatever else your topic may be about.

Dictionaries

Dictionaries define words and terms. They often also provide the pronunciation and etymology. Subject dictionaries will give the meaning of a word within a specific field or discipline, such as

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide a basic understanding or overview of entries. Subject encyclopedias include

U.S. Civil War

Cathy Reilly, Professor
Reference Librarian
Florissant Valley

Contact Info:
Send e-mail
Telephone: 314-513-4554

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000