Skip to main content

U.S. History - Civil War

This guide will help you find reliable information on the U.S. Civil War, in both print and online sources.

Using the Databases

Use the databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

Databases are available online via campus computers or off-campus with current faculty or student identification.

You may also link to a list of databases in history or a complete listing of the library databases.

Use Search It!

Search It! is a search tool (discovery service) that searches many sources simultaneously. You will find books, ebooks, videos, articles, and links to databases or library guides. Get the most out of Search It! by using the limits listed under Refine Results in the left side menu.

STLCC Journals

You may also link to specific journals in American history.

Online Journals:

Suggested Databases for U.S. Civil War

These are just a few of the databases especially useful for research in U.S. Civl War history.

DASH

DASH:  Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard:  A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community. Includes a searchable database of more than 17,000 full-text articles representing a variety of disciplines (including the American Civil War).

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000