Skip to main content

South County (Meramec South County) and Library Resources: Online Library Databases

The librarians may only be at South County on Wednesdays, but you have access to the online STLCC Library resources 24/7!

General Databases

A good place to start researching your topic is with the General Databases. 

Academic OneFile, Academic Search Elite, and Lexis-Nexis are interdisciplinary, which means that they are not limited to a specific research field or subject.  Use Academic OneFile and Academic Search Elite to find articles from magazines and journals; use Lexis-Nexis to find articles in newspapers and other news resources.

Library Tutorials

Watch these tutorials for help with STLCC Library Resources!

About Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will in actuality only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Logging On From Off-Campus

When you are on campus or at SCEUC, clicking on a database will automatically place you into it.  However, if you click on the databases from somewhere other than an STLCC campus or satellite location, you will need to login.  You can login with your Blackboard ID or  with your A number plus ST (A12345678ST) and your last name.  If you don't put the ST at the end of your A number, the system will not recognize you!  For more information, see the Library's connecting from home page. 

Online Databases

Know which database you want to use?  Find it fast with the A-Z list!

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000