Skip to main content

U.S. History - World War I: Find Articles

This guide will help you find reliable information on World War I.

About Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will in actuality only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

DASH

DASH:  Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard:  A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community. Includes a searchable database of more than 17,000 full-text articles representing a variety of disciplines (including World War I).

Database dropdown

Know which database you want to search?

Suggested Databases for U.S. Civil War

These are just a few of the databases especially useful for research in U.S. Civl War history.

World War I

Cathy Reilly, Reference Librarian

(314) 513-4554

creilly@stlcc.edu

Films on Demand

Title Segment Transcript

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000