Archaeology reference sources can be useful for getting a brief overview of a topic or time period, and for placing them in a broader archaeological context. In addition, these sources may refer you to related books, articles, and other helpful materials. Such reference sources are therefore often ideal for beginning your research.
Most print reference sources must be used in the library. Photocopies are 15 cents per page.
The titles listed below represent only a selection of all of the archaeology reference works available through the STLCC Libraries.
Subject encyclopedias provide brief overviews of topics, and can be especially good at placing topics in a larger context. Click on a title to find out which STLCC Libraries own the item.
Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia by 
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: An Encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries by 
Encyclopedia of Dubious Archaeology: From Atlantis to the Walam Olum by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East by 
Oxford Companion to Archaeology by Subject dictionaries define words and terms related to a particular topic or set of topics. Some subject dictionaries offer in-depth definitions.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by 
Dictionary of Archaeology by 
Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology by These databases provide online access to reference sources such as subject encyclopedias and specialized dictionaries.
|
St. Louis Community College Libraries |
Florissant Valley Campus Library |
Forest Park Campus Library |
Meramec Campus Library |
Wildwood Campus Library |
|
|