Skip to main content

Culinary & Baking Arts: Background Info

This guide will help you find reliable information on the culinary and baking arts, in both print and online sources.

Reference Books for Background Information

When starting a research project, it's always a good idea to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, handbooks, and manuals, are great places to start. These can be very helpful for obtaining a general overview of your topic. They can also help you decide which aspect of a topic you may wish to focus on, and place a topic within the broader context of a subject discipline.

An article in a reference book will often include cross-references to additional, related articles within that same source, as well as a bibliography listing outside sources for further reading.

Reference books do not leave the library. However, you may photocopy, scan, or take pictures of pages in reference books. The book descriptions below come from bibliographic records in the library catalog.

Selected Reference Books

This is just a selection of what STLCC Libraries have to offer. Click on a title for more information about the book, including which campus library owns it. Additional reference sources are available. Please ask a reference librarian for assistance.

Search Tips

Look for encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in the library catalog by adding the appropriate term, such as encyclopedia or dictionary, to a keyword search.

Example keyword search: organic food and encyclopedia

  Online Databases

Reference databases such as Credo and Gale Virtual Reference Library provide online access to reference sources such as subject encyclopedias. Search these databases for topics in food science and the culinary arts.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000