Skip to main content

Art and Art History: Find Articles &
Image Databases

This guide will identify resources and help you find reliable information on art and art history

Periodicals in Electronic Format

To see hundreds of periodicals in electronic format, see the collection of Art, Architecture and Applied Arts magazines and journals in our Journal Locator. This tool will identify which database contains the full text of selected titles.

About Databases

What is a Database?

 A database is any collection of data that can be retrieved using organized search procedures. Many of the library databases are collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Visit Searchpath module 4 for in-depth help with using databases.

To see an alphabetical listing of all the databases offered by STLCC Libraries

Art Databases

Use the links in the box to the left for help using the ARTstore database.

Selected Print Periodicals

STLCC Libraries maintain "runs" (multiple years) of key art journals for in-library consultation. Select the links below to view the holdings of these journals.

ARTstor Help & Additional Resources

Art Journals Online

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000