Skip to main content

Art and Art History

This guide will identify resources and help you find reliable information on art and art history.

Using the Films on Demand (FOD) Database

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be streamed and viewed in their entirety or by segment, making them ideal for presentations. Users can create a private and free user account to keep track of favorites and to create playlists.

You can search Films on Demand by using keywords in the search box, and then choosing one of options: film title, segment or transcript. FOD can also be browsed by topic. Look for FOD's Advanced Search option for more control over a search. Browse FOD's Art and Architecture Video Collection.

Need Help Connecting?

While anyone can use the STLCC library databases on campus, only current students, faculty, and staff may use the databases off-campus.

Need help? 

YouTube

Youtube logo

You may also be able to find useful videos on free Internet sites such as YouTube.

NOTE: YouTube is a classic example of one of the strengths and weaknesses of the Internet, which is the fact that anyone can post videos. As such, the quality and scholarly acceptability of videos varies greatly. There may be useful video clips on YouTube, however, so it is worth a look. Before referencing any material from YouTube (or other video sites on the Internet) in a paper or using a clip in a presentation, though, it is highly advisable to check with your instructor concerning the acceptability of the video for the assignment.

TED Talks and Playlists

Ready to learn?  These well-researched and passionate talks offer information, ideas, advice and inspiration.

 

20 Must-See TED Talks For Aspiring Artists

TEDTalks on Art (2300 talks to spur your curiosity)

One example: Vanessa Ruiz: The spellbinding art of human anatomy (11:22)

Use the STLCC Libraries Videos search tool to find videos and films

STLCC Libraries carry quite a few videos, including many on the topic of careers. Some videos, especially popular movies but also some on topics such as careers, may be requestable from campus to campus, or they may be available in a streaming version from a database, indicated like this: STLCC online access

Other materials (marked with a notation such as "LIB USE ONLY) are not requestable and must be viewed on the campus where they are housed.

To find videos on careers, select the Videos search tool from the STLC​C Libraries website. You may also choose to go to individual databases, using the links provided for Films on Demand, Kanopy, or use the Streaming Media Guide. Need Help? Use the Ask a Librarian icon on the STLCC Libraries website. 

STLCC Libraries Video Search Tool

 

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000