Films on Demand is a collection of educational films and documentaries on many subject areas including 19th century literature. Films can be viewed in their entirety or section by section, making them ideal for presentations. These resources are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).
Once logged into the database, try a keyword search such as "Walt Whitman," "Nineteenth Century Literature," "Slave Narratives," "Romantic Literature," or whatever else your topic may be about.
Overview sources are great tools with which to begin a research project. They may be helpful for obtaining a general overview of a subject, and they may also help in the narrowing of research topics and in placing a topic in the proper context.
Some sources, such as subject dictionaries, will provide an introduction to the specific language of a subject or discipline. Sources may cover a fairly broad subject area or a particular aspect or topic in the discipline.
Entries will often include a bibliography, and they may reference additional related books, articles, documents, and other useful sources.
Look for encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books with keyword searches in the library catalog by adding the term "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" to the keyword search.
To quickly locate information on your nineteenth century literature topic, use the database, Reference Universe. This powerful tool will direct you to print (and some online) reference sources available in our library system. For example, type "slave narratives" in the search box and you will be directed to 62 reference sources that have entries on this topic. Among them, Slavery in the United States: a social, political, and historical encyclopedia provides 27 entries on slave narratives.
St. Louis Community College Libraries
Florissant Valley Campus Library
Forest Park Campus Library
Meramec Campus Library
Wildwood Campus Library