Skip to main content

Financial Literacy: Find Articles

Financial Literacy is "the ability to use knowledge and skills to manage financial resources effectively for a lifetime of financial well-being." This guide will help you find authoritative resources to build financial literacy knowledge and skills.

Need Help Connecting?

  • While anyone can use the STLCC Library Databases on campus, only current students, faculty, and staff may use the databases off-campus.
  • For help with off-campus database access, visit the Connecting From Home page.
  • For additonal help, watch this short video

About Databases

What is a Database?

 A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Visit Searchpath module 4 for in-depth help with using databases.

To see an alphabetical listing of all the databases offered by STLCC Libraries

Tools for Finding Articles about Financial Literacy & Personal Finance

Use the Databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Although articles on financial literacy and personal finances can be found in many databases, those listed below are especially useful. Databases are available online via campus computers or off-campus with current faculty or student identification.

Browsing when on Campus

The STLCC Libraries at the Florissant Valley, Forest Park, Meramec and Wildwood campuses also have paper subscriptions to many magazine and journal titles that you can browse when on campus.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000