Skip to main content

Genetics: Articles and E-Books

Suggested Databases

The following is a list of databases that will guide you to up-to-date periodical articles.  You can refer to Find a Book or Article as these tips will also be useful in your search of databases. You can also see a complete listing of STLCC Library databases. Please ask a reference librarian for assistance in your search.

 A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author. (See Find a  Book or Article.) Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Need Help Connecting

While anyone can use the STLCC Library Databases on campus, only current students, faculty, and staff may use the databases off-campus.

For help with off-campus database access, visit the Connecting From Home page.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000