Skip to main content

Resources to Support African American Male Scholars

The goal of this guide is to enhance understanding of the assets and challenges that African American male students bring to college with them and to provide resources to enhance success. It is meant to be used by students, faculty and staff.

Help for Students

Albert Einstein quite: The only thing that you absolutely have to know, is the location of the library.

STLCC Libraries has a student help guide to help you with learn how to use many of the resources offered. Select the link below. ​

About Databases

What is a Database?

 A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Visit Searchpath module 4 for in-depth help with using databases.

Use Library Databases to Find Articles and more....

Use the Databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Some specialized databases also include videos, audio files and more. Always check the database's help options to learn what each offers.  Databases are available online via campus computers or off-campus with current student, staff or faculty STLCC identification.

Using the Films on Demand (FOD) Database

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be viewed in their entirety or by segment, making them ideal for presentations. You can create a private and free user account to keep track of favorites and playlists. The FOD and other databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus.

Malcolm X on libraries...

“My alma mater was books, a good library.... I could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity.”  By Malcolm X

STLCC Libraries can help you succeed. Want to use a comfortable group study room, need access to a scanner, want to check out a digital recorder, iPad, Kindle or Nook? We have it all, including access to thousands of books, articles and videos. Our staff and faculty are eager to help and welcome your questions.

three African American males reading books together

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000