Skip to main content

Human Migration: Refugee Art,
Images, and Video

This guide provides resources to help understand and analyze the complexities of human migration. It also served as a companion resource to Florissant Valley's Fall 2015 Global Gatherings: Stories of Migration.

Watch: Syrian refugees tell their stories

Who we really are: A conversation with Syrian refugees in America.

On February 19, 2016 the Project on U.S. Relations with the Islamic World at Brookings hosted a conversation with four recent Syrian refugees to hear personal accounts of life as a Syrian citizen, as a war refugee, and as an American.

Refugee Art - View Refugee Art Project Galleries

"Art provides an important and powerful means of expression for migrants, asylum seekers, and refugees. Trials and traumas of migration including perilous journeys, arduous asylum-seeking processes, and immigration detention, on top of the conflict, insecurity, and persecution prompting migration, put refugees under considerable physical and emotional stress.

Many refugees and asylum seekers live in constant fear of deportation to the countries they have fled, which could mean facing uncertain danger, or worry about the families they have left behind. While far from a solution to today's global refugee crisis of unprecedented proportions, art can be a powerful outlet to communicate the struggles, experiences, and hope of refugees." Source: TeleSURtv.net - "Stories of Migration: Images of Exile and Hope in Refugee Art."

Global Flow of People

After viewing the video, visit the multimedia website:  Global Flow of People, Wittgenstein Centre for Demography and Global Human Capital.  Explore new estimates of migration flows between and within regions for five-year periods, 1990 to 2010. Click on a region to discover flows country-by-country.

Syrian Artists and Writers

This drawing is by Mohammad Amari, titled "Our Children"

Save the Date!   The Stamps of Hope art exhibit will be open to the public between February 26 and April 6, 2018 at the STLCC-Florissant Valley campus in the Contemporary Art Gallery, IR-112 in Instructional Resources building. There will be a reception for the exhibit on March 22. There will be morning and evening receptions for students, faculty, staff and community members. The morning event will start at 9:30, and the evening one is held at 6:00 pm. 

TED Talks and Playlists

Ready to learn?  These well-researched and passionate talks offer information, ideas, advice and inspiration.

Melissa Fleming: A boat carrying 500 refugees sunk at sea. The story of two survivors. (19:15)

As head of communications for the UN's High Commissioner for Refugees, Melissa Fleming sheds light on their devastating plight and remarkable resilience. "Aboard an overloaded ship carrying more than 500 refugees, a young woman becomes an unlikely hero. This single, powerful story, told by Melissa Fleming of the UN's refugee agency, gives a human face to the sheer numbers of human beings trying to escape to better lives ... as the refugee ships keep coming ... "

Dilip Ratha: The hidden force in global economics: sending money home.

Economist Dilip Ratha was the first to analyze the global significance of remittances — money sent from foreign workers to their families back home. In 2013, international migrants sent $413 billion home to families and friends — three times more than the total of global foreign aid (about $135 billion). This money, known as remittances, makes a significant difference in the lives of those receiving it and plays a major role in the economies of many countries. Economist Dilip Ratha describes the promise of these “dollars wrapped with love” and analyzes how they are stifled by practical and regulatory obstacles.  Download update report: Ratha published an update on Migration and Remittances  in Oct. 2015 for WorldBank.

DVDs at STLCC Libraries

Using the Films on Demand (FOD) Database

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be streamed and viewed in their entirety or by segment, making them ideal for presentations. You can create a private and free user account to keep track of favorites and to create playlists. Only STLCC students, faculty and staff have access to Films on Demand.

You can search Films on Demand by using keywords in the search box, and then choosing one of these three options: film title, segment or transcript . You can also navigate FOD by topic. One way to find information on the Middle East and North Africa is to click on Collections at the top of the page, and then on Area Studies. From there, choose North Africa (under African Studies) or Middle East (under Asia & The Pacific).  

The FOD and other databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000