Skip to main content

IDS 105 - Hurst - Law Goes to the Movies - Spring 2017: Databases

What Is a Database?

Using the Databases

Use the databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

Databases are available online via campus computers or off-campus with current faculty or student identification.

You may also link to a complete listing of the library databases.

Need more help?

For more help using the databases, visit Searchpath, Module 4.

Database dropdown

Know which database you want to search?

Suggested Databases

 These are just a few of the 150+ databases.  These are interdisciplinary (covering all subjects) and can be helpful for your research assignments for any course.

These last three databases are of overview materials.  Use these to find overviews of your topic to help you develop a thesis and to think about broader and/or narrower terms.

Keyword Searching

Some examples of keyword searches include

  1. library AND "banned books"
  2. "financial aid" and (law* or legis*) and (college or university or higher education)
  3. ((convict* and adult*) or "charged as adult") AND (child* or teen*)
  4. (teenager* or adolesen*) and (heroin or substance abuse)
  5. (wom*n or girl* or female*) and sex* and traffick*

NOTE: The asterisk (*) truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the word that follow the truncation symbol. For example, photograph* will retrieve photograph, photographs, photography, photographer, and photographers.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000