Skip to main content

IDS 109 Johnson Spring 2017: Find Web Sites

Search the Web

Google is not the only game in town!  Try searching by

Whatever search function used, be sure to evaluate the sources found!  See http://guides.stlcc.edu/evaluate_sources or a librarian for more help!

STLCC LibGuides

Librarian Recommended Web Sites for Oral and Primary Research

Image result for american memory    http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

From the webpage:

American Memory is the online resource compiled by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program. With the participation of other libraries and archives, the program provides a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.

More than five million historical items are currently available online. In the coming years, the National Digital Library Program plans to digitize more of the Library's unique American history collections and make them freely available to teachers, students, and the general public over the Internet. Special collections to be digitized include the documents, films, manuscripts, photographs, and sound recordings that tell the American story. The program is funded by congressional appropriations and private sector donations.

The American Folklife Center   http://www.loc.gov/folklife/

From the webpage:

Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress.

Image result for national archives logo      http://www.archives.gov/

From the webpage:
The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. They capture the sweep of the past: slave ship manifests and the Emancipation Proclamation; captured German records and the Japanese surrender documents from World War II; journals of polar expeditions and photographs of Dust Bowl farmers; Indian treaties making transitory promises; and a richly bound document bearing the bold signature "Bonaparte"—the Louisiana Purchase Treaty that doubled the territory of the young republic.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000