Skip to main content

ENG 102 Ramer Fall 2016: Find Articles

About Databases

What is a Database?

 A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

For a short overview of databases,  check out this 4 minute video.

Need Help Connecting?

While anyone can use the STLCC Library Databases on campus, only current students, faculty, and staff may use the databases off-campus.


For help with off-campus database access, visit the Connecting From Home page or watch this short video.

Database dropdown

Know which database you want to search?

Need more help?

For more help using the databases, visit Searchpath, Module 4 or Ask a Librarian!

Suggested Databases

These are just a few of the databases especially useful for your research.  Some databases are of secondary and tertiary sources (such as America: History and Life), others include primary/secondary sources such as newspaper articles (Historical Newspapers and Access World News).  Some of these resources, particularly the historical newspaper articles and some of the video film "reels", may include terms that we no longer consider appropriate, polite, etc..  You may also need to use terms that we no longer consider as such in your search strategies.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000