Skip to main content

Human Trafficking: Use Your Library
to do Research

This guide offers resources to help understand and analyze issues related to human trafficking.

Help for Students

Help for Students is a page with links to short "How-To" videos and guides to quickly learn how to use many of the resources offered at STLCC Libraries.

Need Help Connecting?

  • While anyone can use the STLCC Library Databases on campus, only current students, faculty, and staff may use the databases off-campus.
  • For help with off-campus database access, visit the Connecting From Home page.
  • For additional help, watch this short video

About Databases

What is a Database?

 A database is any collection of data that can be retrieved using organized search procedures. Many of the library databases are collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Visit Searchpath module 4 for in-depth help with using databases.

To see an alphabetical listing of all the databases offered by STLCC Libraries

Search the STLCC Library Catalog

Search for books using St. Louis Community College's Catalog.


Use Library Databases to Find Articles and more....

Use databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Some specialized databases also include videos, audio files and more. Check the database's help options and other value-added features. Databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible to current students, faculty and staff from all STLCC locations. Off campus use requires a simple authentication procedure. See help in connecting from home.  View a complete list of all databases offered by STLCC Libraries or use databases by selecting from the list below.  

Using the Films on Demand (FOD) Database

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be streamed and viewed in their entirety or by segment, making them ideal for presentations. You can create a private and free user account to keep track of favorites and to create playlists. Only STLCC students, faculty and staff have access to Films on Demand.

You can search Films on Demand by using keywords in the search box, and then choosing one of these three options: film title, segment or transcript . You can also navigate FOD by topic. Try a keyword search for human trafficking and also for sex trafficking


Films on Demand and other databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).

Need Help?

What do you want to know about using the STLCC Libraries?  Call us, visit us or chat and text online with a librarian, just click to begin
 Ask a Librarian.

Select Books on Human Trafficking, ebooks & print

STLCC Libraries have ebooks! Access from off-campus requires authentication. For help with off-campus database access, visit the Connecting From Home page.

Mishra, V. (2015). Combating Human Trafficking: Gaps in Policy and Law. New Delhi, IN: Sage Publications Pvt. Ltd. Retrieved from ProQuest ebrary.

Palmiotto, M. J. (Ed.). (2014). Combating Human Trafficking: A Multidisciplinary Approach. London, GB: CRC Press. Retrieved from ProQuest ebrary.

STLCC News Story: Nichols’ New Book Explores Sex Trafficking in the United States, Andrea J. Nichols, Ph.D., professor of sociology at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000