Overview sources are great tools with which to begin a research project. They may be helpful for obtaining a general overview of a subject, and they may also help in the narrowing of research topics and in placing a topic in the proper context.
Some sources, such as subject dictionaries, will provide an introduction to the specific language of a subject or discipline. Sources may cover a fairly broad subject area or a particular aspect or topic in the discipline.
Entries will often include a bibliography, and they may reference additional related books, articles, documents, and other useful sources.
To quickly locate information on your aviation topic, use the database, Reference Universe. This powerful tool will direct you to print (and some online) reference sources available in our library system. For example, type "aeronautical engineering" in the search box and you will be directed to print reference sources that have entries on this topic. Among them, The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology with 94 entries on different aspects of aeronautical engineering.
Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library. For example, search "Aerodynamics," "Aircraft Design," or "Aeronautical Engineering" for articles from a variety of encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Films on Demand is a collection of educational films and documentaries on many subject areas including topics related to aviation. Films can be viewed in their entirety or section by section, making them ideal for presentations. These resources are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).
Once logged into the database, try a keyword search such as "aircraft," "aviation," "aviation technology," "flight and technology," "aeronautics and technology," "propellers," or whatever else your topic may be about.
St. Louis Community College Libraries
Florissant Valley Campus Library
Forest Park Campus Library
Meramec Campus Library
Wildwood Campus Library