LibGuides: Photography: Articles (Databases)

Database Dropdown

Know which database you want to search?

Recommended Databases for Photography

These are just a few of the databases especially useful for research in Photography.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines.
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Indexing is from 1977; full-text coverage from 1983. Academic OneFile also includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers, and access to wire services covering worldwide current events. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995.

Help video
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Academic Search Premier includes 4645 magazines and journals in full text, of which 3855 are peer-reviewed. The database indexes and abstracts a total of18,999 magazines & journals.

Help video
System Requirements
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and selected full-text from periodicals in art.
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. It covers Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, and Video. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.

MOBIUS-wide simultaneous user limit: 12.

Help video
ARTstor (JSTOR Images) This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of art images and associated data.
The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.

Users can do keyword or advanced searching, or browse by collection, classification, or geography. Results can be sorted by date, creator, or title, and filtered by geography, date range or classification. Users can view images and image data, zoom in on and pan images, and experience 360 degree panoramas through QTVR images. Organize images into groups, or print and save images and related data to other hardware (e.g. CD, memory stick, hard drive). Upload and manage personal images and sound files in ARTstor. Tools for sharing include saving, emailing, and printing citations for images or image groups; downloading image groups for use in presentation software such as PowerPoint, KeyNote, and ARTstor's Offline Image Viewer (OIV); exporting citations for images or image groups into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks, Reference Manager, or a text file; and generating URL links to images and groups for integration with local course management software and sharing with students.

Please read Use restrictions and see the Knowledge Base for further help on resources and testing.
System Requirements.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Selection of arts-related material from magazines and journals.
Provides access to more than 150 full-text magazines and journals for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Help videos

About Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers. The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author. Some of the articles you retrieve will in actuality only be article abstracts, or summaries. Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you. Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

For a short overview of databases, check out this 4 minute video.

You can also go to an alphabetical listing of all the databases offered by STLCC Libraries.

About Articles

Articles are generally shorter than books and usually focus on more specific topics. Articles published in different types of sources serve different purposes and are written with specific audiences in mind. Some library databases include articles from many of the following types of sources. Other databases are specialized by subject area or by type of source.

Magazines

Magazines are written for a general audience, although they may have a specific subject area. They are usually published weekly or monthly. Articles can range from brief news items to more in-depth thoughtful analysis and commentary.

Newspapers

Newspapers are usually published daily or weekly. They are good sources for the latest news about current events. Most newspapers have a separate editorial or opinion section (often abbreviated Op-Ed), which can be useful for finding different points of view. Newspapers often have a local focus on the city or region where they are published.

Journals

Journals can be highly technical in language and concepts and are about the latest findings in a field. They often include original research and are written by scholars, scientists, or other experts. Many journal articles are peer-reviewed, meaning they have undergone rigorous evaluation by a panel of other scholars or researchers.

Trade or Professional Publications

Trade or professional publications fall in between the technical level of journals and magazines. They typically include articles of interest to people in a particular trade, profession, or industry.

Photography

Need Help Connecting?

More Help with Databases