St. Louis Community College has reference resources about a wide variety of topics. If you do not see what you are looking for on this page, please look for other encyclopedias and dictionaries in the library catalog using keyword searches by adding the term "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" to the keyword search. Reference resources can be found via the Library Catalog and the Library Databases.
Dictionaries help define subject specific words and terms. Some resources will give detailed information on words, such as the etymology. These are just a sample of the dictionaries in the STLCC print collection. To find additional dictionaries. try a keyword search such as:
dictionary AND literat*
A Dictionary of Journalism by 
Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction in Literature by 
The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar by 
The Word Rhythm Dictionary by Encyclopedias contain alphabetically-organized overviews about specific topics. Below is a sampling of the types of encyclopedias offered at STLCC.
To find additional encyclopedias, try a keyword search such as:
encyclopedia AND horror
The Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by 
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature by 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by 
Encyclopedia of Fantasy and Horror Fiction by 
Encyclopedia of Literature and Politics by 
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature by 
The Chronology of Words and Phrases by |
St. Louis Community College Libraries |
Florissant Valley Campus Library |
Forest Park Campus Library |
Meramec Campus Library |
Wildwood Campus Library |
|
|