Skip to Main Content

World Religions

This guide will help you find reliable information on World Religions, in both print and online sources.

Reference Materials Search Tips

St. Louis Community College has reference resources about a wide variety of topics.  If you do not see what you are looking for on this page, please look for other encyclopedias and dictionaries in the library catalog and reference databases using keyword searches by adding the term "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" to the keyword search. Reference resources can be found via the Library Catalog and the Library Databases.

For longer overviews of representative religions, see Books on Major World Religions.

Dictionaries

Dictionaries help define subject specific words and terms.  Some resources will give detailed information on terms, such as the etymology.  These are just a sample of the dictionaries in the STLCC print collection.  To find additional dictionaries. try a keyword search such as:

dictionary AND religion:

dictionary and judaism:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias contain alphabetically-organized overviews about specific topics.  Below is a sampling of the types of encyclopedias offered at STLCC.

To find additional encyclopedias, try a keyword search such as:

encyclopedia and Islam:

encyclopedia and creationism:

Other Reference Resources

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000