LibGuides: Human Services: Articles (Databases)

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines.
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Indexing is from 1977; full-text coverage from 1983. Academic OneFile also includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers, and access to wire services covering worldwide current events. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995.

Help video
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Academic Search Premier includes 4645 magazines and journals in full text, of which 3855 are peer-reviewed. The database indexes and abstracts a total of18,999 magazines & journals.

Help video
System Requirements
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching.
St. Louis Community College currently participates in the Arts & Sciences Collections I & II, and also subscribes to the following individual journals: The American Biology Teacher, The American Journal of Psychology, American Journal of Sociology, The American Naturalist, Asian Survey, BioScience, Crime and Justice, Current Anthropology, Ethics and the Environment, Feminist Teacher, Film Quarterly, The Journal of Modern History, Osiris, The Quarterly Review of Biology, Signs, and Social Problems.

Tutorials
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues.
Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Help videos
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers the study of the human mind and emotions.
Psychology Collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index.

Help videos
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from a wide range of disciplines.
Sage Journals Online includes access to scholarly peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies. There are two ways to limit your search to available full-text articles: start with the Advanced Search page or choose Refine Search after searching, then select “Only content I have full access to.”
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
High-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles in physical science and engineering, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect includes more than 2000 journal titles in the collections Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities. These journals are exclusive to ScienceDirect and not available anywhere else online.

PDF Guide

About Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers. The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author. Some of the articles you retrieve will in actuality only be article abstracts, or summaries. Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you. Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

For a short overview of databases, check out this 4 minute video.

You can also go to an alphabetical listing of all the databases offered by STLCC Libraries.

About Articles

Articles are generally shorter than books and usually focus on more specific topics. Articles published in different types of sources serve different purposes and are written with specific audiences in mind. Some library databases include articles from many of the following types of sources. Other databases are specialized by subject area or by type of source.

Magazines

Magazines are written for a general audience, although they may have a specific subject area. They are usually published weekly or monthly. Articles can range from brief news items to more in-depth thoughtful analysis and commentary.

Newspapers

Newspapers are usually published daily or weekly. They are good sources for the latest news about current events. Most newspapers have a separate editorial or opinion section (often abbreviated Op-Ed), which can be useful for finding different points of view. Newspapers often have a local focus on the city or region where they are published.

Journals

Journals can be highly technical in language and concepts and are about the latest findings in a field. They often include original research and are written by scholars, scientists, or other experts. Many journal articles are peer-reviewed, meaning they have undergone rigorous evaluation by a panel of other scholars or researchers.

Trade or Professional Publications

Trade or professional publications fall in between the technical level of journals and magazines. They typically include articles of interest to people in a particular trade, profession, or industry.

Database Dropdown

Know which database you want to search?

Human Services

Need Help Connecting?

More Help with Databases