LibGuides: Environment & Sustainability: Articles (Databases)

Suggested Databases: Environment & Sustainability

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Includes perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers and corporate interests.
This largely full-text collection of 200 journals provides access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers and corporate interests.

Help videos
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues.
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Help videos
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Help video
System Requirements
Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database contains journal articles on a wide range of scientific topics, including those related to the environment and sustainability.
Science Full Text Select provides full-text articles with abstracts covering a core selection of science periodicals. The database includes all the full text content from Wilson’s Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, and General Science Full Text, plus additional related full text science titles indexed by other Wilson databases including Readers’ Guide Full Text and Wilson OmniFile Full Text. Subjects include acoustics, aeronautics, agriculture, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, chemistry, communications and information technology, conservation, earth science, ecology, mathematics, physics, robotics, space science, waste management and more. Coverage is 1994 or later through the present.

Help video
System Requirements
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
This online collection of reference materials, which includes an encyclopedia of science and technology, features an environmental science section.
AccessScience is a collection of science reference materials with full search capabilities of the 10th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology. AccessScience also includes access to 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, and bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations. It provides links to evaluated related learning resources including web sites, study guides, and images. Includes a Q&A section that is updated weekly.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
This controversial topics database, containing articles which argue various sides of "hot topics" in society, has ample coverage of environmental and sustainability issues.
Issues and Controversies covers more than 800 topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file.

Help Guide
System Requirements
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This database is "a complete one-stop source for information on social issues," including the environment. It offers "viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles."
Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Help videos
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of a huge range of academic topics, including many aspects of the environment and sustainability.
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Indexing is from 1977; full-text coverage from 1983. Academic OneFile also includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers, and access to wire services covering worldwide current events. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995.

Help video
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Another very useful, general academic database with coverage of environmental and sustainability topics.
Academic Search Premier includes 4645 magazines and journals in full text, of which 3855 are peer-reviewed. The database indexes and abstracts a total of18,999 magazines & journals.

Help video
System Requirements
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides a business-focused interface which intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports.
Click here for the ProQuest One Business LibGuide..

ProQuest One Business contains:

• Company, industry and country reports from providers such Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit; and in-depth analyst reports from J. P. Morgan
• Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers
• Full text of the three major global business news sources: the Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
• A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings
•Hundreds of thousands of reports from J.P. Morgan, Hoovers, BMI Research, EIU, Plunkett Research and others.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Another useful source of articles on business and the environment.
HTML Guide
Proquest LibGuide
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
This database, created by the National Library of Medicine, offers authoritative health information, including material on the environment and health. Unlike the great majority of the College's databases, Medline Plus is a freely available website.
MedlinePlus is an authoritative and up to date health information site for health professionals and consumers from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus has a wealth of information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 900 diseases and conditions in English and Spanish. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to thousands of clinical trials, along with many other resources.

FAQs

About Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers. The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author. Some of the articles you retrieve will in actuality only be article abstracts, or summaries. Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you. Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

For a short overview of databases, check out this 4 minute video.

You can also go to an alphabetical listing of all the databases offered by STLCC Libraries.