Archaeology

Maintained by an archaeologist turned freelance writer. Site includes articles on a variety of archaeological topics, along with career information and a world atlas of archaeology.

This web site offers access to "online...resources [on] African-American archaeology, history and cultures, and broader subjects of African diaspora archaeology...Additional links to online resources...concerning African-American history and culture, African archaeology, African history and cultures, African heritage in Britain and Europe, and the subjects of slavery, resistance and abolition are also provided."

Interactive Digs lets you follow archaeological excavations as they unfold. A given dig may include the site's context and history, a video tour, photographs, field notes from the archaeologists involved with the dig, as well as interviews with these individuals. Past digs are archived on the site.

This site is a creation of the Archaeological Legacy Institute, whose mission is in part to deliver archaeological information to the public. The site features streaming audio and video, news, commentary and interviews on archaeological topics.

The Society for American Archaeology disseminates information on a wide range of archaeological topics through this website. Included are news and events, educational and other types of resources, as well as suggestions for books, movies, CDs and games.

"Surrounding the Giza Pyramids are thousands of ancient tombs, temples, settlements, and artifacts. Archaeological discoveries continue to this day. This website is a comprehensive resource for research on Giza. It contains photographs and other documentation from the original Harvard University - Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition (1904 to 1947), from recent MFA fieldwork, and from other expeditions, museums, and universities around the world."

The Giza Plateau Mapping Project, sponsored by the University of Chicago's famed Oriental Institute, is "dedicated to research on the geology and topography of the Giza plateau, the construction and function of the Sphinx, the Great Pyramids, the associated tombs and temples, and the Old Kingdom town in the vicinity."

"The Israel Antiquities Authority is in charge of the country’s antiquities and antiquity sites, their excavation, preservation, conservation, study and publication thereof..." Through its website, the Authority also seeks to bring awareness of Israel's archaeological activities and treasures to the general public.

The MUA is based at the University of Rhode Island. Its website includes research findings from sites around the world, conference papers and proceedings, and resources for the classroom.

This user-friendly site provides information for the general public as well as professionals. Resources for the public include summaries of archaeological research being conducted within US National Parks, as well as educational materials for teachers and children. Professional resources include technical assistance, databases and reports. The site also includes general information on federal archaeological projects, including relevant legislation.

Archaeologica links to daily news stories about archaeology from a wide variety of online publications. It also includes an archaeology discussion forum.

A publication of the Archaeological Institute of America, this website features archaeological news from around the world. It includes images and video, along with text.

Frequently updated news stories on biblical research, from the Biblical Archaeology Society.

The mission of (e)Science News is to "ensure that you have access to the very latest and popular science breakthroughs," including findings in paleontology and archaeology. (e)Science is fully powered through artificial intelligence, with no human editor.

Expedition is a peer-reviewed publication of Pennsylvania University's Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, and reports on the latest archaeological discoveries from around the world. Access to articles from all but the most recent back issues are available on the website for free; access to the current issue requires joining the Penn Museum.

This publication of the Society for American Archaeology includes SAA business, commentary, news, job listings, opinions, and articles.

The Ancient Civilization News section of Science Daily features reports of discoveries in archaeology and ancient history.