LibGuides: Dietetics & Nutrition: Articles (Databases)

Databases

Use a database to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Those listed below are especially useful for finding information in the field of dietetics and nutrition. Databases are available online via campus computers or off-campus with current faculty or student identification.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
High-quality, peer-reviewed scientific and social sciences journal articles. The Health & Life Sciences journal collection includes the full text of more than 890 journal titles. Some titles, such as The Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics AND the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior are exclusive to ScienceDirect and not available in other databases. Both titles are available in full text from this database.
ScienceDirect includes more than 2000 journal titles in the collections Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities. These journals are exclusive to ScienceDirect and not available anywhere else online.

PDF Guide
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer-oriented health content to support patient information needs.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. The search interface is designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Help video
System Requirements
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Provides health information for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health research. It combines indexing of approximately 205 periodicals, six reference books, and over 500 pamphlets; selective indexing for articles in approximately 1500 additional general interest titles; and full text for more than 150 periodicals, all reference books, and all pamphlets. 1994-present.
Provides access to consumer health related information -- diseases and disorders, surgeries and procedures, drug and supplement information, annotated websites and medical definitions. Also included is information from many Gale reference titles, including, but not limited to: Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Diets, Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and more.

Help videos
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text of nursing and allied health journals. Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in Gale's Health Reference Center. Also includes hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures.
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in Gale's Health Reference Center. Also includes hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

Help videos
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Indexing is from 1977; full-text coverage from 1983.
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Indexing is from 1977; full-text coverage from 1983. Academic OneFile also includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers, and access to wire services covering worldwide current events. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995.

Help video
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 2,050 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.
Academic Search Premier includes 4645 magazines and journals in full text, of which 3855 are peer-reviewed. The database indexes and abstracts a total of18,999 magazines & journals.

Help video
System Requirements

Nutrition: MedlinePlus
This is a free, public database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the NIH (National Institutes of Health).

What is a scholarly journal?

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article, interactive tutorial

Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal & The Peer Review Process
What Type of Periodical Is It?
The term periodical refers to journals and magazines that are issued periodically. Scholarly (academic or professional) journals, popular (general interest) magazines and trade publications are all different types of periodicals. Since instructors often require students to locate information in scholarly journals, it is important to recognize the differences between them.

Journals at STLCC

STLCC Libraries provide electronic access to full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from

Journals in nutrition science
(use from off-campus locations requires login first to access full text journals through Publication Finder)
A complete listing of all the library databases

Nutrition Journals

The links below take you directly to the journal's website and may not provide access to full text articles. It is best to use the listings in the "Databases - search for articles related to dietetics and nutrition" box to search for full text articles from nutrition and dietetics journals.

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
American Society for Nutrition
FDA Consumer
Food Insight
A publication of The International Food Information Council Foundation.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The current issue is freely available in full text. NOTE: This journal and the previous title, Journal of the American Dietetic Association, is fully indexed and available in full text in the database ScienceDirect (use link to the left to access this database).
Nutrition Action Health Letter
Nutrition Notes
American Society for Nutrition
Today's Dietitian

Open Access Food & Nutrition Journals, peer reviewed.

Food & Nutrition Journals, open access, peer reviewed
Although food is the primary engine that provides energy to drive the human body towards various activities, food without nutritious elements is of little use to build a healthy body and mind. Balanced diet consisting vitamins, minerals, carbohydrates, fats, antioxidants and fiber in a right proportion is essential to fight genetic, contagious and infectious diseases. Researchers in the field of food and nutrition are emphasizing the importance of the food that is capable of fighting or cure various metabolic and lifestyle oriented diseases like diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular diseases and cancer. Researchers are also focusing increasingly on indigenous and locally available food varieties that are known for their nutritional values to prevent and cure diseases. Away from the mainstream staple food grains like rice, maize and wheat nutritionists is now banking on millets, quinoa, brown rice and sorghum to fight malnutrition.
NOTE: Longdom Publishing SL is one of the leading international publishers of open access journals covering clinical, medical, biological, pharmaceutical sciences as well as engineering, management and technology oriented subjects. Our aim is to catalogue the current scholarly information sourced from across the world and broadcast to maximize its utility and impact for progress of global scientific community. The functional operation of our constituent journals spans across two decades-consequently we share and enjoy a long standing support of our editors, reviewers and authors

Reference Databases

These database contain subject-specific reference books and more. They are very helpful to do background reading to deepen your understanding of the topic and discover vocabulary used to discuss your topic. Use a database like Credo Reference and/or the index in subject-specific print reference books to find your keywords or phases. This will enable you to develop context and background for your research and help you develop an effective research question

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books.
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Reference books including social science, green issues, and criminal justice.
SAGE Knowledge provides an interface to search SAGE Book, Business Case, Reference, and Video titles in the social sciences. Links to SAGE Journals and SAGE Research Methods are provided through a "SAGE Recommends" widget.

PDF Guide
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Help videos

Dietetics & Nutrition

More Help with Databases

Need Help Connecting?