LibGuides: Genealogy and Family History: Library Databases

Newspapers

Newspapers offer a wealth of information on local, state, national and international levels. Find links within databases available via the STLCC library Web site https://guides.stlcc.edu/az.php. To use the databases you must be currently enrolled in the college or you may use the library's on-site computers.

Noteworthy newspaper databases:

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of major U.S. newspapers, dates vary. Coverage includes news, editorial content, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements and advertisements.
Full text images of newspapers in PDF format. Newspapers may be searched separately or simultaneously. Includes New York Times (1851-to the present) and St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922).

PDF Guide
Proquest Interface
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003) This link opens in a new window
Access to historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
Access to historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text images of newspapers in PDF format.

PDF Guide
Proquest LibGuide
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. There are 40 Missouri newspapers with coverage ranging from 1988 to present.
Five full text databases are included. NewsBank Academic Library Collection provides contemporary articles from national and international newspapers, wire services and magazines from 1986 forward. Newsbank Retrospective covers 1970-1991 and focuses on contemporary American History. MOREnet offered Full-Text Newspapers includes local, regional and national newspapers in one searchable database. The Kansas City Star covers 1991-Current and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch covers 1988-Current.

PDF Guide