Skip to main content

9/11

Support materials for the tenth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks

Library Databases

What is a Database?

What is a Database?

 A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers.  The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author.  Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries.  Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you.  Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Visit Searchpath module 4 for in-depth help with using databases.

Using the Databases

Use the STLCC databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

Databases are available online via campus computers or off-campus with current faculty or student identification.

You may also link to

The Pentagon

The Pentagon in flames moments after a hijacked jetliner crashed into the building Sept. 11, 2001. Photo by Cpl. Jason Ingersoll, USMC

9/11

A New York City firefighter looks up at what remains of the World Trade Center Sept. 13, 2001, after its collapse following the Sept. 11 terrorist attack. Photo by Photographer's Mate 2nd Class Jim Watson, USN.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000