Skip to Main Content

BIO 111 - Barr - Human Impact Research Project - 2022

This guide will provide useful resources to successfully complete the Human Impact Research Project assigned in Kim Barr's Introductory Biology courses.

About Videos

Videos can be a rich source of information for research, adding visual, sound, and movement to illustrate concepts beyond what can be described in words. Feature films and documentaries on DVD are available in each campus library, and are listed in the library catalog along with the books. Streaming video can be accessed through the library databases. These range from short educational and historical film clips to full-length movies and documentaries. 

Searching for Videos

You can use the video search below (and on our home page) to find films and videos in different formats. DVDs are available for checkout and can be requested to be sent from one campus to another. Many films are available to stream. 

Search our Films on Demand video collection.

 

 

or go to the Streaming Media Guide for more collections and information.

Required Viewing

Films on Demand (FOD) Database

Films on Demand logo

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be viewed in their entirety or by segments. The FOD and other databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus. Students can creating individual user accounts in FOD. Ask a Librarian for assistance.

TED Talks

What Are Ted Talks? TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. TED Talks began as a simple attempt to share what happens at TED with the world.  Since then, TED's scope has become ever broader. Along with two annual conferences, TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Project and TED Conversations, the inspiring TED Fellows and TEDx programs, and the annual TED Prize.

YouTube

Youtube logo

NOTE: YouTube demonstrates perfectly what is both a strength and weakness of the Internet: the fact that anyone can post videos. Since anyone can post, the quality and scholarly acceptability of videos varies greatly. There may be useful video clips on YouTube, but you must evaluate them for authority and relevance. Before referencing any material from YouTube (or other video sites on the Internet) in a paper or presentation, it is highly advisable to check with your instructor concerning the acceptability of the video for the assignment.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000