Skip to main content

Emergency Medical Services

This guide will identify resources and help you find reliable information on emergency medical and paramedic services.

  About Databases

What is a Database?

 A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers. The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.

A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author. Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries. Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you. Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.

Databases for EMS - Medical

Articles on emergency medicine and medical services can be found in many library databases. However, those listed below are excellent ones for this subject area.

You can also see the complete listing of the library databases on the Articles (Databases) web page.

If you are using a campus computer network, you can access the databases directly. If you are off-campus you will need to enter your current STLCC student, faculty, or staff ID number. Include the A at the beginning and put ST at the end of your number. 

Databases for EMS - Career

Electronic Journals

These journals are available through the STLCC library databases and/or in print at an STLCC campus library. Off campus database access is limited to current STLCC students, faculty and staff.

Journals on the Web

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000