Skip to main content

The Caribbean

The Caribbean Region

Introduction to the Caribbean Region

The Caribbean is a region located in the Caribbean Sea. The countries of the Caribbean include the Cayman Islands; Cuba; the Dominican Republic; Haiti (these two share the island of Hispaniola); Jamaica; Puerto Rico; Anguilla; Antigua and Barbuda; the British Virgin Islands (Anegaga, Jost Van Dyke, Virgin Gorda, and Tortola); Saba; Saint Martin; Sint Eustatius; Saint Barthélemy; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Guadeloupe; Montserrat; the U.S. Virgin Islands (Saint Croix, Saint John, Saint Thomas, and Water Island); Dominica; Grenada; Barbados; Martinique; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines;Trinidad and Tobago; Aruba; Bonaire; Curaçao; the Bahamas; Turks, and Caicos. Together, this region is often referred to as the West Indies.

Here are some links to start your research on the islands of the Caribbean. For more information on certain islands, the region in general, the food, or other specifics, please explore our links to books, databases, and music! There's also a link to information about the Arawak and Taino Indians, the indigenous people of the region.

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000