Ebooks and Audiobooks

Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Help videos

Salem Press titles in literature, history, science, and health. Includes Magill's Literary Annual 1977-current, Masterplots, Magill's Medical Guide, the Great Events and Great Lives from History reference series, and several science encyclopedias.

PDF Guide

SAGE Knowledge provides an interface to search SAGE Book, Business Case, Reference, and Video titles in the social sciences. Links to SAGE Journals and SAGE Research Methods are provided through a "SAGE Recommends" widget.

PDF Guide

AccessScience is a collection of science reference materials with full search capabilities of the 10th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology. AccessScience also includes access to 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, and bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations. It provides links to evaluated related learning resources including web sites, study guides, and images. Includes a Q&A section that is updated weekly.

American History Online spans political, military, social, and cultural history and features "Learning Centers" that bring forward specially selected entries from many Facts On File titles. It includes biographies; events and topics; more than 2,150 primary source documents; timelines; overview essays outlining time periods; nearly 3,200 images depicting key figures, places, and events; original maps, graphs, and tables; a spotlight providing an in-depth look at a topic such as the Lewis and Clark Expedition or immigration; and an "Editor’s Selection of the Month" highlighting an event tied to each month.

HTML Guide
System Requirements

Features over 22,669 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World includes information on demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings. Article length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region. The Gazetteer includes every incorporated place and county in the United States, along with several thousand unincorporated places, special-purpose sites, and physical features. There are a total of 40,000 entries for the United States. Historically noteworthy locations, such as archeological and biblical sites and ancient cities, towns, trade routes, and geographic features, supplement the coverage of the modern world.

HTML Guide

First published in 1904, Granger's has been the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. The online version includes full text of 250,000 poems, biographies of poets, and a series of key Columbia poetry titles: The Classic Hundred Poems -- a fully annotated anthology of the one hundred poems that, in the Granger's database, are most frequently anthologized; The Top 500 Poems -- an annotated anthology of the 500 poems that, in the Granger's database, are most frequently anthologized; The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies, editions 8-12 -- an index to poetry in anthologies; The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works, editions 1-2 -- an index to poems in the other main type of poetry book found on library shelves; and The Columbia Granger's Index to African-American Poetry -- an index to 65 volumes of the best poetry by African Americans.

HTML Guide

Cultural information for over 200 countries is included in the World Edition. U.S. States and Canadian provinces are also covered. In addition to the country/state/province reports, the database includes a photo gallery with thousands of images, downloadable slideshows, downloadable and streaming videos, interviews with native children and adults from countries around the world, five recipes for each country, short biographies of five to ten famous people for each country, maps and flags, sound files providing national anthems and country name pronunciation, state bird sound files, and more. The database is keyword searchable.

FAQs

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center career research database is broken down into three main sections: Job and Industry Profiles, Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills, and Career and Industry Resources. The material is drawn from a range of sources and is extensively indexed.

The Job and Industry Profiles section includes industry profiles organized by the U.S. Department of Education's Career Clusters and thousands of articles on specific jobs. The Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills section gives guidance on the essentials of getting a job and keeping it -- establishing a career path, honing interview skills, writing resumes, and more. The Career and Industry Resources section includes searchable, browsable resource entries divided into convenient categories on fellowships, organizations, internships, scholarships, and awards.

Other sections of interest include School Searches (four comprehensive, current databases, provided by Peterson's Nelnet, LLC, covering undergraduate, graduate, nursing, and vocational and technical schools in the U.S. and Canada), where users can search for schools by type, region, areas of study, and a variety of other characteristics; Career Interest Assessment (a test that ranks users' work interest areas and suggests related occupations and industries); and Links to Outside Jobs (access to current, live job postings).

Features include videos covering jobs, industries, and career development skills; advice from nationally renowned author and career expert Sue Morem for recent graduates, job seekers, and people advancing in the workplace; "My Life" interviews with professionals; Career Opportunities News; persistent record links, and dynamic citations in MLA and Chicago Manual of Style formats.

Basic Search help

Gale Directory Library provides full-text, searchable access to Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations and Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US. Users can also sort and export data from the directories.

Help videos

Expanded and revised edition of the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics range from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Each is placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The resource is fully cross-referenced and indexed and permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest. Users can download tables in Excel or CSV; download entire groups of tables as a zip file; create custom tables; or merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed. Provides advanced searching of the tables, their documentation, and essays and full citation downloading in RIS, text, or CSV format.

Site Tour
System Requirements

A compendium of 1000+ articles on medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers. The database also includes Salem Health: Cancer, which covers more than 800 topics of crucial interest to students, patients, caregivers, and others who have received a diagnosis or are associated with those who have cancer. Virtually all of the content from the printed versions of Magill’s Medical Guide and Salem Health: Cancer is available online, including illustrations and sidebars, indexes, and appendixes. There are direct links to cross-references and key terms in the glossary, and article citation information is included with every article.

Download Student Guide

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

HTML Guide
System Requirements

Business research database that provides industry statistics, trends and in-depth analysis of top companies, including industry research, contacts, and business development data. Covers industry sectors such as health care, financial services, retailing, entertainment, energy and information technology.

HTML Guide

Published by Proquest and built to find and retrieve statistical content, the Statistical Abstract includes tables on thousands of different topics regarding the on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Proquest LibGuide

Theatre in Context Collection (formerly North American Theatre Online) is a reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes major reference materials, together with records for plays, biographies, theatres, productions, and production companies. The collection also includes images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

HTML Guide
System Requirements