LibGuides: World Religions: Videos

About Videos

Videos can be a rich source of information for research, adding visual, sound, and movement to illustrate concepts beyond what can be described in words. Feature films and documentaries on DVD are available in each campus library, and are listed in the library catalog along with the books. Streaming video can be accessed through the library databases. These range from short educational and historical film clips to full-length movies and documentaries.

Searching for Videos

Use ArcherSearch to find the widest range of videos from the STLCC library collections, including DVDs at the campus libraries and streaming videos from our largest video and film databases.

To limit your results to just videos, start by entering your search terms below. Once your results appear, click All filters, then scroll through the menu to find Source type, and select Videos.

Or go directly to one of the streaming media databases.

Streaming Media Guide
by Janice Hovis Last Updated Nov 7, 2024 1824 views this year

Recommended Videos

I BELIEVE-with Dennis Wholey
“In America’s rapidly changing culture, it’s not enough to tolerate diversity; we need to actively seek to learn and respect the way other people live, what they believe, and how they worship.” Over the course of this 26-part series, which aired on public television, Dennis Wholey visits churches, synagogues, mosques, temples, and other houses of worship to respectfully inquire into some of the many faiths that enrich the spiritual life of the United States. Each program features an interview with a knowledgeable representative about beliefs and practices, history, and related sociocultural issues, and most include a brief visit inside the sacred space. Wholey rounds out the series with a thought-provoking interfaith roundtable discussion. 26-part series, 27 minutes each. Films on Demand database.
Crash Course playlist: World Religions
A curated collection of videos from Crash Course and other sources Most are lesson from Crash Course series in Sociology and World History.
Religions in Global History
Series of 8 videos from Hip Hughes.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Educational videos available for video streaming.
Films on Demand is a collection of more than 40,000 educational videos available for video streaming. Titles are organized into subject and other categories. Most videos are divided in to segments which may be searched and viewed individually.

Films on Demand User’s Guide
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Includes documentaries, films, and demonstrations in a wide range of subject areas.
Includes more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more, curated for the educational experience with a wide range of content types such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.