Articles - ENG 102- Schneider - 2024 Spring - LibGuides at St. Louis Community College

Recommended Databases

Remember, these are subscription resources that require a sign on with the STLCC ID and password.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Academic Search Premier includes 4645 magazines and journals in full text, of which 3855 are peer-reviewed. The database indexes and abstracts a total of18,999 magazines & journals.

Help video
System Requirements
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines.
Extensive coverage of all academic disciplines including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Indexing is from 1977; full-text coverage from 1983. Academic OneFile also includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers, and access to wire services covering worldwide current events. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995.

Help video
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, as well as international newspapers from around the globe.
Five full text databases are included. NewsBank Academic Library Collection provides contemporary articles from national and international newspapers, wire services and magazines from 1986 forward. Newsbank Retrospective covers 1970-1991 and focuses on contemporary American History. MOREnet offered Full-Text Newspapers includes local, regional and national newspapers in one searchable database. The Kansas City Star covers 1991-Current and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch covers 1988-Current.

PDF Guide
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues.
Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Help videos
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides a business-focused interface which intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports.
Click here for the ProQuest One Business LibGuide..

ProQuest One Business contains:

• Company, industry and country reports from providers such Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit; and in-depth analyst reports from J. P. Morgan
• Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers
• Full text of the three major global business news sources: the Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
• A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings
•Hundreds of thousands of reports from J.P. Morgan, Hoovers, BMI Research, EIU, Plunkett Research and others.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Educational videos available for video streaming.
Films on Demand is a collection of more than 40,000 educational videos available for video streaming. Titles are organized into subject and other categories. Most videos are divided in to segments which may be searched and viewed individually.

Films on Demand User’s Guide
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer-oriented health content to support patient information needs.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. The search interface is designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Help video
System Requirements
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to consumer health related information.
Provides access to consumer health related information -- diseases and disorders, surgeries and procedures, drug and supplement information, annotated websites and medical definitions. Also included is information from many Gale reference titles, including, but not limited to: Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Diets, Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and more.

Help videos
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Help video
System Requirements