LibGuides: CHM 101 Teaching Resources: Videos

Videos

Video Databases

JoVE This link opens in a new window
Expires June 30, 2025
Videos and video textbooks of science concepts, laboratory methods, and clinical skills.

Notes: Sign In to create an account using your STLCC email address. STLCC does not subscribe to the Research portion of JoVE.
Subjects include biology, chemistry, statistics, environmental sciences, physics, engineering, and psychology.

Expires June 30, 2025
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Collection of science reference materials including articles, videos, and animations.
AccessScience is a collection of science reference materials with full search capabilities of the 10th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology. AccessScience also includes access to 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, and bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations. It provides links to evaluated related learning resources including web sites, study guides, and images. Includes a Q&A section that is updated weekly.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Includes documentaries, films, and demonstrations in a wide range of subject areas.
Includes more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more, curated for the educational experience with a wide range of content types such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Educational videos available for video streaming.
Films on Demand is a collection of more than 40,000 educational videos available for video streaming. Titles are organized into subject and other categories. Most videos are divided in to segments which may be searched and viewed individually.

Films on Demand User’s Guide

Video Series from the Databases

Chemical Equilibrium
Series of 10 brief videos, Films on Demand.
Chemistry: Challenges and Solutions,
Annenberg Learning, 2014. Series of 13 half-hour video lessons. AVON.
Just the Facts Chemistry Series
Chemistry does not simply occur in scientific labs. It is present in our everyday lives and is the cause of our survival. In this series, find out how chemistry plays an essential role in the life of plants and animals. Plus, learn about the chemistry, history, and importance of carbon, plastics, salt, and more! Soon you will realize that the things you might take for granted are also the most miraculous demonstrations of chemistry." Series of 5 videos, Cerebellum Corporation, 2013. Films on Demand.
OUP Chemistry
Series of 18 very brief videos. (around 2 minutes each). Makematic, 2022. From the AVON database. These might be good introductions to lessons.
Teaching Systems Chemistry Series
"The award-winning Standard Deviants tackle the massive world of chemistry. The positively charged cast of young actors will explain a massive amount about the materials that make up our universe and what happens when they react. No matter is left untouched as animated characters and on-screen graphics help viewers visualize the bonding at an atomic and massive level." Series of 8 videos, 25-38 min. each. Cerebellum Corporation, 2012. Films on Demand.
Chemistry "channel" on AVON
Videos from a variety of sources.
"Chemistry" section of Films on Demand

Open Web Videos

Crash Course Chemistry
Crash Course 46 video lessons in Chemistry, on the Crash Course website.
Crash Course Chemistry
Crash Course 46 videos lessons on Chemistry, on a YouTube playlist.
Multimedia Gallery | National Science Foundation
Copyright-free videos and images related to science.
Periodic Videos (YouTube channel)
A video for every element on the periodic table, plus other chemistry videos. University of Nottingham, U.K.