LibGuides: College, Financial Aid & Scholarships: Colleges & Universities

STLCC Libraries Databases

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Provides industry and job profiles, advice on career skills, and thousands of resource entries. The Plan Your Education section includes a searchable directory of colleges, plus informative articles.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center career research database is broken down into three main sections: Job and Industry Profiles, Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills, and Career and Industry Resources. The material is drawn from a range of sources and is extensively indexed.

The Job and Industry Profiles section includes industry profiles organized by the U.S. Department of Education's Career Clusters and thousands of articles on specific jobs. The Job-Hunting and Workplace Skills section gives guidance on the essentials of getting a job and keeping it -- establishing a career path, honing interview skills, writing resumes, and more. The Career and Industry Resources section includes searchable, browsable resource entries divided into convenient categories on fellowships, organizations, internships, scholarships, and awards.

Other sections of interest include School Searches (four comprehensive, current databases, provided by Peterson's Nelnet, LLC, covering undergraduate, graduate, nursing, and vocational and technical schools in the U.S. and Canada), where users can search for schools by type, region, areas of study, and a variety of other characteristics; Career Interest Assessment (a test that ranks users' work interest areas and suggests related occupations and industries); and Links to Outside Jobs (access to current, live job postings).

Features include videos covering jobs, industries, and career development skills; advice from nationally renowned author and career expert Sue Morem for recent graduates, job seekers, and people advancing in the workplace; "My Life" interviews with professionals; Career Opportunities News; persistent record links, and dynamic citations in MLA and Chicago Manual of Style formats.

Basic Search help
College Source Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of college catalogs. Choose Search from the top menu for options that include Criteria. A criteria search allows you to search by public or private, U.S. schools, majors, tuition, enrollment, degrees and more.
Features over 22,669 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.

College & University Directories

College Blue Book, ebook
Guide to thousands of 2-and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Detailed descriptions including degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs. Gale Ebooks. 6 volumes.
Fiske Guide to Colleges 2021 by Fiske, Edward B.
"The best college guide you can buy."—USA Today Every college and university has a story, and no one tells those stories like former New York Times education editor Edward B. Fiske. That's why, for more than 35 years, the Fiske Guide to Colleges has been the leading guide to 320+ four-year schools, including quotes from real students and information you won't find on college websites. Access through ProQuest Ebook Central database.

BigFuture
CollegeBoard's interactive website that lets you explore careers & college majors, search for colleges by filtering, find scholarships and financial aid, and get help with admissions. It even has a tool to compare colleges. You do not have to create an account to use these tools.
College Navigator, Find the Right College for You
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Peterson's College Search Tool
A searchable website of college information from the same publisher as Peterson's Four-Year Colleges. Note: Requires creating a profile and account.
U.S. News Best Colleges
Includes the latest version of the U.S. News College rankings.

Select Ebooks

College Admission Essentials : A Step-by-Step Guide to Showing Colleges Who You Are and What Matters to You by Sawyer, Ethan (2020)
ProQuest Ebook Central.

Classic Catalog Search Help

Begin in the STLCC Catalog to find books in the library. The two basic methods for searching are the keyword and the subject searches. The subject search is somewhat misleading--it only searches for subjects as defined by the Library of Congress. Because most library users are not familiar with the official Library of Congress Subject Headings, it is often a good idea to begin with a keyword search. Some examples of keyword searches include

college essays
scholarships

NOTE: Use the connector "and" to separate distinct concepts in your search. Use the connector "or" to separate synonyms in your search. Use the truncation symbol * to find varient words

Results from your keyword searches will help you identify appropriate subject headings. Below are just a few examples of subject headings you will find in the STLCC Catalog.

Additional Websites - Colleges & Universities

Missouri Educational Institutions
Missouri Department of Higher Education's complete list of institutions in Missouri.
MoSCORES
MoSCORES is a publicly available website that combines a searchable program inventory with additional information on program costs, program student demographics, graduate outcomes (earnings and employment), and a program comparison function. Missouri Economic Research and Information Ceneter.
College Admissions, U.S.
ThoughtCo's page on college admissions, application essays, financial aid. etc.
College Affordability & Transparency Center, U.S. Dept. of Education
Start here to find information about how much it costs students to attend different colleges, how fast those costs are going up, and why costs are going up.
College Affordability Guide
The College Board
Search a database of over 3,200 two- and four-year colleges. This site also provides information on the SAT, writing a successful college application essay, placement tests and submitting college applications online.
College Scorecard, U. S. Dept. of Education
Previously this resource, which profiles colleges and universities, offered information on a schools’ graduates’ median earnings and debt; now that content is organized by field of study. Users can also figure out graduation rates for full-time, part-time, first-time, and transfer students—all information to help students make the strongest choices when applying.
Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU)
hbcu-central.com, the Historically Black Colleges and Universities Megasite provides an entry into information about the colleges and universities, as well as chat rooms, a career center and profiles of students currently enrolled in HBCU's. Click on "HBCU Listings" at the top of the page to see college and university profiles.
Peterson's, the Education Supersite
Explore information on colleges, graduate programs, distance learning and more.
Study Abroad, Institute of International Education, Inc.
Offers a comprehensive search engine for study abroad programs.

College, Financial Aid & Scholarships

STLCC Libraries Databases

College & University Directories

Select Ebooks

Classic Catalog Search Help

Additional Websites - Colleges & Universities

Find Online Colleges