LibGuides: Dental Hygiene & Dental Assisting: Articles (Databases)

Anatomy of a scholarly article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article, interactive tutorial

Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal & The Peer Review Process

Recommended Databases

In addition to using Search It, you can also use individual databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles. STLCC databases are also available online via campus computers or off-campus with current faculty or student identification. The same method for keyword searching in the library catalog also applies to databases.

Although there is no database specific to dental hygiene and assisting, the following are just a few of the databases that provide articles on dental hygiene and assisting:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Professional nursing literature and related fields, including dentistry, radiologic technology, respiratory therapy and others.
CINAHL Complete includes citations, abstracts and full text of journal articles, dissertations, and other materials. It indexes 3804 journals, including 466 in full-text, and provides 133 full-text evidence-based care sheets.

Help video
System Requirements
PubMed This link opens in a new window
You may select the subset of Dental Journals by checking the box under Journal Groups. Other important limits to check are Dates (5 years); Languages (English); Species (Human);and Text Options (Links to free full text).

This premier medical database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that provides free access to the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. Their database of articles includes leading international medical journals.

PubMed Help
Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
Click on the "Clinical Specialties" tab to find sections specifically for "Dentistry" and "Dental Hygiene."
The representation of the body in Primal's range of software is unique because of its accuracy and detail.

It is derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of Primal anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by an expert team of graphics specialists. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures.

To supplement the core three-dimensional anatomy data are clinical videos and text written by some of the world's leading medical specialists.

Training Videos
System Requirements
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
High-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles in physical science and engineering, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect includes more than 2000 journal titles in the collections Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities. These journals are exclusive to ScienceDirect and not available anywhere else online.

PDF Guide
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to consumer health related information.
Provides access to consumer health related information -- diseases and disorders, surgeries and procedures, drug and supplement information, annotated websites and medical definitions. Also included is information from many Gale reference titles, including, but not limited to: Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Diets, Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and more.

Help videos

Complete list of nursing and health sciences databases
Please note that the databases are divided into Core Databases and Related Databases.

Dental-related journals (full text in database)

NOTE: After selecting a journal below; click on the Full Text Access link that appears under the title of the journal to see which database(s) contain the full text of the journal. Access from off-campus locations requires log in. Follow directions on screen.

Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
more...less...
This is a is a monthly, peer reviewed journal whose publishing and editorial team is composed of former and currently practicing dental hygienists.
Evidence-Based Dentistry
Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)
more...less...
"the nation's premier dental journal—a reliable, peer-reviewed source of information on dentistry and dental science" -- since 1913.
A list of dentistry journal titles available in a variety of databases
A list from STLCC Libraries' Publication Finder. Select a title, and then select Full Text Access to discover which databases contain the journal title. You should be able to search for articles within the title.
A list of dental hygiene journal titles available in a variety of databases
Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology and Oral Radiology

Archives of Dimensions of Dental Hygiene, The Journal of Professional Excellence

Archives of Dimensions of Dental Hygiene, The Journal of Professional Excellence
This is a freely accessible archives. Dimensions of Dental Hygiene is a monthly, peer-reviewed journal that reconnects practicing dental hygienists with the nation’s leading educators and researchers.

Dimensions is committed to the highest standards of professionalism, accuracy, and integrity in our mission of education supporting oral health professionals and those allied with the dental industry. Through our print and digital media platforms, continuing education activities, and events, we strive to deliver relevant, cutting-edge information designed to support the highest level of oral health care.

Free Full-text Articles from PubMed

Here are two websites that offer free-full text articles from PubMed:

PubMedCentral
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Online Journals

ADA News Daily
The Journal of Contemporary Dental Practice
Journal of Dental Research
more...less...
(JDR) is a peer-reviewed scientific journal dedicated to the dissemination of new knowledge and information on all sciences relevant to dentistry and to the oral cavity and associated structures in health and disease.
Journal of Periodontology
more...less...
The official journal of the AAP publishes original scientific articles to support practice, education, and research in the dental specialty of periodontics.
RDH Magazine
more...less...
Magazine for registered dental hygienists committed to continued professional growth. Topics address clinical issues, aesthetics, practice management, etc.

Select articles

Critical thinking in dental hygiene education: Examining student perception
Critical thinking is a high-level cognitive function desired in graduates of higher education, including professional education programs such as dental hygiene. Research has examined best practices in nurturing critical thinking in adult education and professional education. Yet research specific to critical thinking in dental hygiene education is limited, let alone research that aligns dental hygiene educational strategies with the development of critical thinking.
Inflammation and diet: The dental hygienist’s role
The article focuses on the role of dental hygienists in raising awareness on the dangers posed by inflammation to overall health. It states that the dental hygienists have the opportunity to determine as well as educate those person who are at risk. It mentions that the dietary modification can reduce chronic inflammation. It adds that the dental hygienists need to understand the cause of inflammation and what reduces it in order to best serve the patients. Zappone, A. (2012). Inflammation and Diet: The Dental Hygienist’s Role. Access, 26(2), 18–20..
Oral health inequities: An AJPH supplement to help close the gap.
An introduction is presented in which the author discusses various reports within the journal on topics including an effort to reduce oral health inequities in America, a shortage of dental professionals in the U.S., and Medicaid insurance reimbursements for children's oral health care expenses. Borrell, L. N. (2017). Oral Health Inequities: An AJPH Supplement to Help Close the Gap. American Journal of Public Health, 107, S6–S7. https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2017.303959
Outcome of orthodontic treatment in subjects with periodontal disease. Part III: a CBCT study of external apical root resorption.
Zasčiurinskienė, E., Lund, H., Lindsten, R., Jansson, H., & Bjerklin, K. (2019). Outcome of orthodontic treatment in subjects with periodontal disease. Part III: a CBCT study of external apical root resorption. European Journal of Orthodontics, 41(6), 575–582.