LibGuides: Dental Hygiene & Dental Assisting: Books & Ebooks

Select Ebook Titles

Ebook Central
Provides full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.

For help, see the Quick Start Guide.

DH notes, 2e: Dental hygienist's chairside pocket guide
This unique guide gives your instant access to commonly used clinical practices and procedures integral to comprehensive patient care, perfect for preparing for tests and board exams. Accessed through ProQuest Ebook Central database.
How to use evidence-based dental practices to improve clinical decision-making. by Association, A. D., Carrasco-Labro, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Azarpazhooh, A., & Guyatt, G. (2019)
Dental teams and educators alike will find it a useful resource for incorporating the most up-to-date scientific evidence in clinical decisions and instilling others with the curious mindset needed to provide evidence-based health care. Accessed through ProQuest Ebook Central database.
Periodontal disease: Diagnosis, management options and clinical features
Periodontal disease (PD), an inflammatory disease of tooth supporting tissues that leads to progressive loss of periodontal ligament and bone, with pocket formation and / or recession of the gums, is widespread among the world adult population and a serious public health issue.. Accessed through ProQuest Ebook Central database.
The pocket guide to mouth and dental hygiene in dementia care: Guidance for maintaining good oral health. by Nightingale, D. (2020).
This pocket guide sets out tailored advice for supporting the oral and dental needs of people living with dementia. It sets out straightforward models on providing effective preventative mouth care, spotting symptoms and what to do when problems occur. This concise handbook will help any dentists, care home staff, nurses and other health professionals working day to day with people with dementia.

Select Print Books from Library Catalog

ADA dental drug handbook: A quick reference by American Dental Association (2019)
Call Number: 615.58 A191 2019, FP Reference

Contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more. This book contains five sections; the main section focuses on drugs used by the dentist, and other sections include pediatric management, dental office emergencies, handling patients with specific medical conditions, and useful tables. Each chapter starts with a brief overview.
Anatomy for dental medicine by Eric W. Baker, editor. Based on the work of Michael Schuenke, Erik Schulte, Udo Schumacher ; illustrations by Markus Voll, Karl Wesker.
Call Number: 611.91 H4322a 2015, FP-Circulation Desk
Dental assistants and hygienists: A practical career guide
Call Number: 617.602 E5667d 2019, FP Stacks, FV Stacks
Dental care and oral health sourcebook by Angela L. Williams, A. L., ed. (2019)
Call Number: 617.6 D4143 2019, FP Stacks

Provides basic consumer health information about dental hygiene, preventive care, and oral health concerns for children and adults, with facts about surgical, orthodontic, and cosmetic dental procedures, and diseases of the mouth and jaw. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Dental materials: Clinical applications for dental assistants and dental hygienists by Eakle, W. S. and Kimberly G. Bastin, K. G. (2021)
Call Number: 617.695 E119d 2021, FP Stacks
Evidence-based decision making: A translational guide for dental professionals
Call Number: 617.6 E937, FP Stacks
Evidence based dentistry, Dental Clinics of North America Series
Call Number: 617.608 D414v63n1, FP Stacks

Series Dental clinics of North America ; v. 63, no. 1. (Issue: January 2019)
Each volume is cataloged separately, shelved together in call number area 617.608 D414v...
Mosby's dental dictionary by Fehrenbach. M. J. , ed. (2020)
Call Number: 617.6 M8942, FP Reference

About Books

Reference Books

Reference Books are the best places to find concise summaries and background information on a topic. Reference books cannot be checked out of the library. Some of them are available as databases or ebooks.

Circulating Books

Circulating books (books you can check out) may also provide summaries and background information, but usually go into greater depth about a topic.

Using Books for Research

Using books for research does not always mean that you need to read the entire book.

Use the table of contents and the index to find where in a book information about your topic is located.
The introduction to a book may be a good place to find background information on the topic the book is about.
You should read enough of a book or chapter to understand what an author is saying and quote her correctly.
Sometimes chapters in books are complete works written by different authors, making them ideal for research.

Dental Hygiene & Dental Assisting

More Help Finding Books

Renew Books

Suggest a Book