LibGuides: Biotechnology Resources: Books

Ebooks, Recommended Databases

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
For help, see the Quick Start Guide.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Search and view the full text of eBooks by keyword search or browsing categories, highlights, or featured books.

Credo Reference: Biotechnology
Credo Reference search results and mind map for Biotechnology

Principles of Biology by Susan Randel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Designed to provide students and researchers with a solid foundation to the study of biology, this volume introduces readers to hundreds of important terms and concepts. The volume begins with a detailed introduction of the field of biology. Written in clear, understandable language, entries include a complete discussion of the subject, related fields, key terms, plus illustrations, models and diagrams.
Biomes and Ecosystems by Robert Warren Howarth (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Publication Date: 2013
This academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of biomes and ecosystems and to discover the biology and geography of these places around the world.

Here are a few examples of books available in the STLCC system of libraries.

Controlled Vocabulary
A brief, generic tutorial introducing the use of controlled vocabulary in library catalogs and databases.
Keyword Searching in the Library Catalog
A brief tutorial which shows how to construct keyword searches specifically for the library catalog, as compared to natural language searching on the web.
Locating Books in the Libraries
A brief tutorial which shows how to find the books on the shelves in STLCC libraries.
Truncation
A brief tutorial introducing the search strategy of truncation, one that can make your information search more efficient and effective. (3:20 min., Helbling) (Requires Adobe Flash. Not playable on iOS.)
Reference Resources
Eight minute tutorial introducing basic electronic and print reference materials. (8.00 min., Smith)

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide, links to Internet resources.
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide, including 49 million bibliographic records in over 400 languages.

HTML Guide

Is there a book, DVD, or other item you would like to see in our collection? Fill out the form below.