Electronic Resources - Classical Mythology - Greek - LibGuides at St. Louis Community College

Library Databases

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Information on literature from all time periods and genres.
Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's literary databases in one interface.

Gale Literary Sources includes the databases Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author Online and two additional e-books from the Gale Virtual Reference Collection -- The Encyclopedia of World Biography and the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.

The Literature Criticism Online database includes the titles Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

The Literature Resource Center database includes Contemporary Authors Online; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's Literature Criticism and For Students series. The titles in these series include: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Drama for Students, Literature from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature of Developing Nations for Students, Literature and Its Times, Novels for Students, Poetry Criticism, Poetry for Students, Shakespearean Criticism, Shakespeare for Students, Short Story Criticism, Short Stories for Students, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Access to current, full-text critical essays on major authors from prominent literary journals.

Help videos
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
Offers information pertaining to Greek Poetry; including author biographies, commentaries, critiques, and some full-text poetry.
First published in 1904, Granger's has been the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. The online version includes full text of 250,000 poems, biographies of poets, and a series of key Columbia poetry titles: The Classic Hundred Poems -- a fully annotated anthology of the one hundred poems that, in the Granger's database, are most frequently anthologized; The Top 500 Poems -- an annotated anthology of the 500 poems that, in the Granger's database, are most frequently anthologized; The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies, editions 8-12 -- an index to poetry in anthologies; The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works, editions 1-2 -- an index to poems in the other main type of poetry book found on library shelves; and The Columbia Granger's Index to African-American Poetry -- an index to 65 volumes of the best poetry by African Americans.

HTML Guide
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books.
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A database offering numerous video resources on various subjects; including Greek Mythology, literature, and the theatre.
Films on Demand is a collection of more than 40,000 educational videos available for video streaming. Titles are organized into subject and other categories. Most videos are divided in to segments which may be searched and viewed individually.

Films on Demand User’s Guide

Web Resources

Encyclopedia Mythica - Greek mythology
Offers numerous articles about Greek Mythological characters, creatures, heroes, gods and goddesses.
Perseus Project (Digital Library)
A resource created by Tufts University which offers full-text versions of many Greek poems, dramas, and epics in both Greek and English translations.

Evaluating Web Resources

Many resources exist on the Internet about Greek Mythology. However, when utilizing such resources it is important to evaluate the site and its content to determine its validity. Components to look for when using web resources include the following.

Who is the author of the site?
Who published the site?
Does the information show a certain point of view or is bias?
Are there references to other resources?
Is the information verifiable?
Is the information current? (not always the case when dealing with Mythology since the primary resources for such are thousands of years old)

For a more detailed look at evaluating web resources the article Evaluating Information Found on the Internet published by the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University provides a good example.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is an extremely useful resource for finding streaming videos on various subjects. The resource also offers several videos about Greek Mythology. The following links can be used to quickly access resources on Greek Mythology, Literature, and the Performing Arts.