The David L. Underwood library is located on the second and third floors of the Instructional Resources building in the center of the hilltop campus. During the Fall and Spring semesters, the library is open 71 hours each week. The library is headed by John Furlong, Senior Manager, Library and Instructional Resources. There are three full-time and four adjunct faculty librarians. Sharon Fox is the library liaison for Nursing. Other library staff include five full time and four part time employees. In addition to working directly with nursing faculty, the library liaison communicates with the Nursing Resource Liaison faculty member, Nursing Retention Coach, Coordinator of First Year Nursing Students and Nursing Secretary for the benefit of students.
In addition to textbooks kept on Reserve at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for library use only, the Nursing department has placed an additional number of books on 3-day or 7-day checkout Reserve, which are heavily used by nursing students. The library houses newer general circulating clinical books behind the Circulation Desk. The location of the books is designated in the library catalog, and nursing students check them out from the Circulation Desk for 4 weeks and renew if needed. Students may renew books online using their individual library accounts.
The library has designated zones of quiet and silent study areas on the third floor, four group study rooms equipped with whiteboards, and a media collaboration station for group work. The library also provides access to a fully equipped presentation practice room for students. Students reserve study rooms at the Circulation Desk in advance and if unused, students can use them on a first come, first served basis. The Florissant Valley Library provides a Nursing workstation in the Library’s Anatomy & Physiology Study Room that mirrors what is available on workstations in the campus Nursing Lab. The availability of the workstation extends access hours to nursing students to evenings and Saturdays. The Anatomy & Physiology Study Room also houses 3-D models, a virtual connection to an anatomy tutor at the Forest Park Library, and a large-screen monitor that can be used for viewing the Anatomy TV database.
The library provides an open computer lab with a teaching station and a library classroom equipped with 25 iPads and a teaching station. There are 24 PCs and 2 Macintosh computers available for student use in open area of the library, and 29 PCs and 1 Macintosh in the library computer lab. In addition, 40 laptop computers and 2 iPads are available for students to check out from the Circulation desk. Three scanners, two black & white printers, a color printer, and 2 photocopy machines are also available. Two scanners are internet-connected and configured for scanning to email or flash drive storage. The library also provides 10 charging study stations on the second floor for the convenience of our students.
Although not administratively part of the library, the Academic Support Center’s Writing Center has a presence in the library for the convenience of students. Hours are Monday-Thursday from 9:00 am. -1:00 p.m. and Saturdays from 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
In addition to the Florissant Valley Campus, the Florissant Valley Library also provides library services and support to the Center for Workforce Innovation.
The Forest Park campus library is centrally located on campus, and easily accessible to all. During the Fall and Spring semesters, the library is open 69 hours per week. June Williams is the Senior Manager, Library and Instructional Resources. The five full-time and eight part-time employees include two full time and five adjunct library faculty. Two additional full-time, non-faculty positions are in the process of being filled. We currently have two student workers, as well as three student tutors in our Bone Room (see below). These numbers vary somewhat by semester. Jeff Papier is the designated library liaison to the Nursing program.
The library offers a silent study room on the main level, which also serves as a group study room. The library offers a quiet study area on the lower level, as well. A newly created Presentation room, already very popular, provides students the opportunity to create, practice and digitally record speeches and video presentations. There are 27 PCs available for student use, as well as 20 laptops. In addition, there are two black and white printers, one of which is also a photocopier, as well as a color printer. A flatbed scanner allows students to save scanned materials to a flash drive, email, or Google Drive.
Forest Park Library’s heavily-used Bone Room features 3-D anatomical models, as well as detailed anatomy/physiology charts. The Bone Room is staffed by three tutors at specified hours, and includes a computer setup through which these tutors can offer services to students at the Florissant Valley campus. This room also includes ample seating for group study.
The library classroom accommodates 24 students, and is equipped with a teacher workstation, screen, projector, and 24 student PCs. In this classroom, Library faculty teach all sections of LIB 101, a prerequisite to entry into the Nursing program, along with other library instruction sessions. The classroom setup makes it easy for students to gain valuable hands-on practice conducting research.
Textbooks placed on Reserve by the Forest Park Nursing faculty are located at the library Circulation Desk. Students may use these items in the library. In addition, the library keeps the newest circulating clinical nursing books behind the Reference Desk. The location of the books is designated in the library catalog, and reference librarians are available to assist nursing students with this collection. Students may check these items out at the Circulation Desk for four weeks, and renew if needed. Students may renew books online using their individual library accounts.
Although not administratively part of the library, the Academic Support Center (ASC) is located nearby, on the bottom floor of the same building. These services include the campus Writing Center, Supplemental Instruction, as well as tutoring in Math, Science, Reading, and English as a Second Language. Thanks to the ASC’s proximity, it is easy for librarians and ASC staff to refer students to one another.
It should be noted that in addition to the Associate in Applied Sciences in Nursing, the Forest Park Campus offers certificate and degree programs in a wide variety of Allied Health disciplines, such as Dental Assisting, Radiologic Technology, Respiratory Therapy, and Diagnostic Medical Sonography. The Forest Park Library supports students and faculty in all of these programs, as well. The library also provides support and services to the Harrison Education Center.
The Meramec Library is located on the south side of the Library Quad in the center of the Meramec campus. It is open 80.5 hours per week during the Fall and Spring semesters. The largest of the campus libraries, the Meramec Library is centered around a light-filled atrium. The library offers two silent study areas (one on each floor), five small group study rooms, a library classroom equipped with 25 iPads, and an open computer lab. There are 64 PCs and 15 Macintosh computers available for student use, in addition to 44 laptops and one iPad for checkout from the Circulation Desk for use in the library only. Two scanners, two black & white printers, a color printer, and photocopier are also available. We also recently acquired several phone charging stands for the convenience of our students.
Patrick Mallory is the Senior Manager, Library and Instructional Resources. The 13 full-time and 13 part-time employees include four full time and four adjunct library faculty. Student workers vary by semester; we currently have seven student workers. Janice Hovis is the designated library liaison to the Nursing program.
During the Fall 2015 semester, the liaison worked with nursing faculty to present a focused session and workshop to students in NUR 253 on using library databases for research related to their clinical experience in the class. Similar sessions are planned for the current semester.
In addition to the textbooks kept on Reserve at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for library use only, the Nursing department has placed an additional number of books on 3-week checkout Reserve. These are kept on the second floor near the anatomy models, and are used heavily by the nursing students. There is also a large-screen monitor specifically designated for viewing the Anatomy TV database.
The information access lab is the computer lab inside the library. In addition to providing computers for all students to use, the information access lab provides accessibility equipment, software, and technology services to students with disabilities. The coordinator of the access lab, Scott Armstead has worked closely with nursing instructors and their students to utilize available educational learning software, to maximize the learning potential of all nursing students.
Although not administratively part of the library, student support services are now housed within the library building, making them more accessible to students. These include the campus Writing Center, Academic Support Services, Supplemental Instruction, and Math and Science Tutoring.
In addition to the Meramec Campus, the Meramec Library also provides library services and support to the South County Education and University Center.
|
St. Louis Community College Libraries |
Florissant Valley Campus Library |
Forest Park Campus Library |
Meramec Campus Library |
Wildwood Campus Library |
|
|