LibGuides: Toolkit for Librarians: Professional Development / Database Training

COVID-related Webinars & Resources for Librarians

ACRL Presents: "Information Instruction at a (Social) Distance: Moving Library Instruction Online"
Webinar recording from March 17, 2020. Janice recommends; good tips!
Slides, examples, & handouts
From the Information Literacy at a (Social) Distance webinar above; can stand alone.
ACRL Presents: Tips for Suddenly Switching to Online Reference and Access Services
Webinar Recording from March 30, 2020
Booklist
Kirkus Reviews
Library Journal

LibGuide Training, Springshare

Springshare Training Videos, A-Z list

When you are logged into LibGuides, select HOME to access the LibGuide Dashboard where you have easy access to Springy News and the Training Calendar.

Databases (Support) Training and Promotional Materials

EBSCO Connect
Access product and training information, promotional materials, customer discussion groups, and customer support.
Gale Support
STLCC Location ID: morenetsccol
Access tools to manage, use, and promote your Gale resources. Select Training Center in the menu to access video tutorials and webinars.
ProQuest Databases, Training LibGuides and more...
ProQuest Ebook Central
O'Reilly for Higher Education, ProQuest partners with O'Reilly

Webinars and Presentations

Collections

ACRL-Archived Choice Webinars on Choice's YouTube channel:
Future Trends Form Archive
What will education become, especially under the impact of technology?
The Future Trends Forum is a weekly videoconference discussion exploring this vital topic. Our conversations feature extraordinary guests, members of the wide-ranging Forum community, and Bryan Alexander, education futurist, as host.
Lifelong Information Literacy (LILi)
LILi = a group of librarians from various types of California libraries, investigating information literacy definitions, standards and instruction in California, in order to craft effective models of lifelong, sequential information literacy instruction. Find links to Show and Tell recordings, past conferences, information literacy/competency, information researching, critical thinking sites, lesson plans, and more.
Virtual Poster Session, ACRL
The ACRL Distance and Online Learning Section Instruction Committee invites you to participate in our 3rd annual Virtual Poster Session. 32 posters organized in 5 tracks:
Instructional Collaborations, Project Planning & Management, Student Engagement, Assessment, and The Accidental Virtual Librarian.
WebJunction Reference Webinars
Intended audience: public libraries but still useful. Create a free account to accecss.

Individual

ACRL - Choice: "Put Those Databases to Work! Strategies to Get Materials Flying Off Virtual Shelves"
Brandy Burbante, Nicholls State University, is determined for students and faculty to get the most from their library’s digital resources. She aims for high usage numbers even during trials, which helps elicit administrative buy-in for purchases. In this session, Burbante will describe strategies she uses to make patrons aware of how the library’s resources can benefit them. Attendees will leave with marketing tips that are easy, quick, and affordable to implement. Henrietta Verma will then briefly introduce Credo’s marketing materials that can help reach patrons generally as well as specific populations including FYE and health science students.
Flip the Deficit Script
JSTOR-sponsored webinar on discovering students' prior knowledge and strengths in information literacy, rather than their deficits. Applicable to one-shot sessions and other situations. (Recorded 3/26/2020, JH)
FTTC Keynote Talks
Focus on Teaching and Technology Conference (FTTC) Keynote Addresses includes the 2019 keynote address by Peter Felten, executive director of the Center for Engaged Learning. The focus of this keynote is the importance of relationship in student success – we can all become a mentor of the moment. Past keynotes are also available and also highly recommended.
What’s New in APA Style—Inside the Seventh Edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
CHOICE Media Channel -- see the APA Style website: https://apastyle.apa.org/ for additional info.

Resources for Mind Training and Mindfulness in Education

Mind Training and Mindfulness: What's the Opportunity?
Sharon's handout for Library Faculty Group instruction session, Nov. 8, 2019
Mindfulness Attention Awareness Scale
assessment tool
Wheel of Awareness and 12 Pillars of Well Being
Handout: Dan Siegel's Wheel of Awareness and Rick Hansen's 12 Pillars of Well Being
Select Resources for Mind Training and Mindfulness in Education
This is a list of websites, videos, etc. meant to help deepen understanding of the value of mind training.

The Association for Contemplative Mind in Higher Education (ACMHE)
The ACMHE promotes the emergence of a broad culture of contemplation in the academy, connects a broad network of academic professionals with online resources, and stimulates scholarship and research concerning contemplative pedagogy, methodology and epistemology within and across disciplines through initiatives and events including the annual ACMHE national conference.

ACRL Instruction Section

Professional Development

IS provides ideas, conferences, learning programs, and networking to support the practicing academic librarian. Several IS committees maintain sites with instructional materials for academic and research librarians who teach. Some of these sites include:

Information Literacy in the Disciplines Guides: Links and citations to information literacy standards and curricula
PRIMO Database: Online instructional resources reviewed and selected by the PRIMO Committee
PRIMO Site of the Month: Monthly interviews with creators of projects recently added to PRIMO
ACRL Framework for Information Literacy Sandbox: Resources for using the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
Instructional Technologies Tips and Trends: Information and advice on using new, emerging, and familiar technologies in library instruction

Webinars and other professional development opportunities are held throughout the year including ALA and ACRL conferences. View archived webinars and watch the IS website, IS Newsletter, and ALA Connect for announcements of upcoming events. Your contributions are encouraged!

Looking for an active, lively forum for discussing instruction and information literacy with other academic librarians? Join the conversation in ALA Connect.

Toolkit for Librarians