February is Black History Month, an annual celebration of the achievements and contributions of African Americans.
Find out about the origins of Black History Month in America.
Image: "Trumpet" by Jean-Michel Basquiat
This year's Black History Month theme is African Americans and the Arts, focusing on the impacts that Black Americans have had on music, visual arts, and culture.
Throughout the month of February, you can find many ways to celebrate Black history across the St. Louis region.
Videos can be a rich source of information for research, adding visual, sound, and movement to illustrate concepts beyond what can be described in words. Feature films and documentaries on DVD are available in each campus library, and are listed in the library catalog along with the books. Streaming video can be accessed through the library databases. These range from short educational and historical film clips to full-length movies and documentaries.
The following is a list of databases that will guide you to up-to-date periodical articles. You can also see a complete listing of STLCC Library databases. Please ask a reference librarian for assistance in your search.
A database is a collection of articles which are accessible online, but which (in most cases) first appeared in print sources such as scholarly journals, magazines written for the general public, or newspapers. The articles have been placed online so that they can be easily searched and accessed.
A database normally lets you search for articles in a variety of ways, including by keyword, subject or author. Some of the articles you retrieve will only be article abstracts, or summaries. Other articles will appear in full-text form, meaning the entire article is available to you. Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full-text articles will appear in your search results.
|
St. Louis Community College Libraries |
Florissant Valley Campus Library |
Forest Park Campus Library |
Meramec Campus Library |
Wildwood Campus Library |
|
|
