LibGuides: Statistics & Data: Economic Statistics

Federal Reserve - FRED® Economic Data

Main Economic Indicators
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Links to individual economic indicators for countries worldwide.

Country Profile Websites

BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The Economist: Intelligence Unit
The Economist website only offers limited public access to this information. Users can sign up for a free account, which gives you access to some documents. See below for an example.
To access more, go to the database ABI/INFORM from the library's Articles/Databases link and once there, click on "Browse" to see a list of country reports.
more...less...
The Economist Intelligence Unit (The EIU) is the research and analysis division of The Economist Group, the sister company to The Economist newspaper. The EIU Store showcases unrivalled reports for almost 200 countries, providing analysis, forecasts and data to help businesses, financial firms and governments to understand how the world is changing and how that creates opportunities to be seized and risks to be managed.
globalEDGE
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Get insights by Country.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using its forms, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Member States in Figures
OIC Member States in Figures presents facts and figures from the 57 Member States of the OIC. After clicking either on the flag or the name of the OIC Member State listed, the profile of the selected country is displayed.
UHY Doing Business Guides
Prepared by UHY’s member firms (a network of independent accounting and consulting firms with offices in over 296 major business centres across more than 89 countries), each ‘Doing Business’ guide covers country specific business information you need to consider should you wish to pursue business interests there.
Index Mundi
IndexMundi is a data portal that gathers facts and statistics from multiple sources and turns them into easy to use visuals. Their mission is to turn raw data from all over the world into useful information for a global audience. They capture statistics that are scattered or otherwise hidden and present them via user-friendly maps, charts, and tables which allow visitors to understand complex information at a glance.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides a business-focused interface which intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and company, industry and country reports.
Click here for the ProQuest One Business LibGuide..

ProQuest One Business contains:

• Company, industry and country reports from providers such Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit; and in-depth analyst reports from J. P. Morgan
• Scholarly journal and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers
• Full text of the three major global business news sources: the Wall Street Journal, the Economist and the Financial Times
• A robust collection of video – including interviews with business leaders, case studies and trainings
•Hundreds of thousands of reports from J.P. Morgan, Hoovers, BMI Research, EIU, Plunkett Research and others.

Websites with Country Data & Statistics

Index of Economic Freedom, The Heritage Foundation
For over twenty years the Index has delivered thoughtful analysis in a clear, friendly, and straight-forward format. The Index covers 12 freedoms – from property rights to financial freedom in 186 countries. Readers can track over two decades of the advancement in economic freedom, prosperity, and opportunity.
Economic Development Reports, Brookings Institution
Visit other sections of the Brookings website, including Global Development, International Affairs, U.S. Economy, etc.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at the European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
How Much Does Your Country Invest in R&D?
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
ILO Statistics International Labour Office
View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories. The ILO is the only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 that brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
IMF Data Library
From the start of 2015, all of the International Monetary Fund's (IMF) statistical databases, including International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics, are available free of charge.
OECD Library -- Statistics
This link goes to the statistics section of the OECD iLibrary, the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and serves as a gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Users can also browse by country and themes.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Data
UN Data
UN Data brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
UN Statistics Division
The UN Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. The Division compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
World Bank Open Data
Browse by topic or country. Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables, etc. Scroll to bottom of page for more resources.

Trade Statistics Websites

U.S. Trade Data & Analysis
The International Trade Administration's (ITA) Export.gov trade data can help companies identify the best countries to target their exporting efforts. Companies can gauge the size of the market for their product as well as develop a price strategy to become competitive.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at the European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
The United States International Trade Commission's (USITC) Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides U.S. international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. All trade data are compiled from official data retrieved from the U.S. Bureau of the Census (an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce).
*You will need to create a (free) user account to access data.
UN Commercial Trade Statistics
Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010