African History in Credo

This pioneering book, the first on this period of the region's history in a generation, tells a different story. Interweaving political and social history and drawing on a rich array of sources, including Arabic manuscripts, oral histories, and recent archaeological findings, Michael Gomez unveils a new vision of how categories of ethnicity, race, gender, and caste emerged in Africa and in global history more generally.

Ancient Egypt was one of the longest-lasting civilizations the world has known. Today, Egypt plays a vital role in the politics of the Middle East, and learning about its history, economic pressures, diverse cultures, and social issues is essential to understanding the contemporary Middle East.

Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.

This authoritative, comprehensive reference work covers South Africa's history, government and politics, law, society and culture, economy and infrastructure, demography, environment, and more, from the era of human origins to the present.

As Africa and its diaspora commemorate fifty years of post-independence Pan-Africanism, this unique volume provides profound insight into the thirteen prominent individuals of African descent who have won the Nobel Peace Prize since 1950.

Brings together cultural, social and political leaders—both historical and contemporary—of the sub-Saharan region.

Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.

International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

A unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present. Covers myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years: from the Assyrians of the ancient Middle East to the modern-day Armenians, from the Belgae of ancient Europe to the modern-day Basques.

Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.

Provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

Essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history.