Skip to main content

David L. Underwood Memorial Lecture Award: Home

Recipients of the Underwood Memorial Lecture Award emulate Dean Underwood's values and exhibit excellence in instruction and a genuine, humanistic concern for students, faculty, staff – and all of education.

The David L. Underwood Memorial Lecture Award recipient is announced each spring during National Library Week in April. The recipient is a STLCC-Florissant Valley faculty member or staff person who emulates the values of David Underwood who served the campus as Dean of Instruction from 1967 to 1975.  The awardee presents a lecture to the campus during the week preceding the beginning of the fall term, known as Service Week. See Award Background and Criteria.


2017 Underwood Award Winner:
Janice Nesser-Chu, Interim Dean, Liberal Arts

Cathy Herman Underwood and Mrs. Annabelle Underwood with Janice Nesser-Chu,
April 11, 2017

2016 Underwood Award Winner:
Cindy Campbell

Mrs. Annabelle Underwood with Cindy Campbell,
April 14, 2016

David L. Underwood, Dean of Instruction,
STLCC-Florissant Valley, 1967-1975

2015 Underwood Award Winner:
Paul Higdon

Paul Higdon with Mrs. Annabelle Underwood
April 22, 2015

2017 Underwood Award Winner: Janice Nesser-Chu

Provost Elizabeth Perkins, Cathy Herman Underwood, and Mrs. Annabelle Underwood with
Janice Nesser-Chu,
April 11, 2017

Comments or Suggestions?

Do you have questions, comments or suggestions about this guide?  Please contact::

Sharon Fox, Instruction Librarian


2104 Underwood Award Winner: Sharon Fox

Mrs. Annabelle Underwood with Sharon Fox,
April 24, 2014

St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000