Videos - COM 101 - Kane - Culture and Communication - 2023 - LibGuides at St. Louis Community College

Databases for Videos

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Includes documentaries, films, and demonstrations in a wide range of subject areas.

Includes more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more, curated for the educational experience with a wide range of content types such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
Films on Demand
Educational videos available for video streaming.

Films on Demand is a collection of more than 40,000 educational videos available for video streaming. Titles are organized into subject and other categories. Most videos are divided in to segments which may be searched and viewed individually.

Films on Demand User’s Guide

Searching for Videos

Use ArcherSearch to find the widest range of videos from the STLCC library collections, including DVDs at the campus libraries and streaming videos from our largest video and film databases.

To limit your results to just videos:

Start by entering your search terms.
Click Source type and check the box next to Videos.
Click the search icon to start the search.

Or go directly to one of the STLCC Libraries' databases of streaming video:

Videos
by Janice Hovis Last Updated Aug 26, 2025 974 views this year

About Videos

Videos can be a rich source of information for research, adding visual, sound, and movement to illustrate concepts beyond what can be described in words. Feature films and documentaries on DVD are available in each campus library, and are listed in the library catalog along with the books. Streaming video can be accessed through the library databases. These range from short educational and historical film clips to full-length movies and documentaries.