Websites - ECO 151 - Course of Record - LibGuides at St. Louis Community College

About Websites

Remember that anyone can post anything at all on the Web, from outright lies to informed opinion to accurate, thoroughly researched information. Therefore you must always evaluate a website before you rely on it for your research or personal use.

The sites listed here have been collected and reviewed for quality by a STLCC faculty librarian. For help with evaluating websites and other information sources which you find on your own, visit ...

Evaluate Your Sources
STLCC Libraries

Courses and Videos

ACDC Economics. Macroeconomics Videos
Jacob Clifford. Playlist.
Crash Course Economics Playlist
Dr. Mary McGlasson (MJMFoodie), Microeconomics Playlist
Learn Economics, Understand Your World.
Marginal Revolution University. Founded in 2012 by George Mason University economics professors Tyler Cowen and Alex Tabarrok, Marginal Revolution University is building the world’s largest online library of free economics education videos—currently weighing in at more than 900 videos.
more...less...
Since 2003, Tyler and Alex have co-authored a popular economics blog called Marginal Revolution—hence the name of this educational platform. What is the “marginal revolution,” exactly? The term refers to an exciting time in the history of economics when several leading nineteenth-century thinkers (Walras, Menger, and Jevons) formalized what is now known as marginalism theory. In other words, thinking on the margin, which is something you too will master as you dive into MRU videos. We also like the idea that revolutions are made one idea and one person at a time. Tyler and Alex are also authors of the widely-used principles of economics textbooks, Modern Principles of Microeconomics and Modern Principles of Macroeconomics. The textbooks and the videos go great together but the videos work with any textbook or without a textbook at all.

FRED® Economic Research, Economic Data

The Twelve Federal Reserve Districts, Banks
The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, provides the nation with a safe, flexible, and stable monetary and financial system. Each Regional Federal Reserve Bank provides value-added resources, including special reports, money museums, periodicals, speeches, podcasts, etc.
more...less...
- conducts the nation’s monetary policy to promote maximum employment, stable prices, and moderate long-term interest rates in the U.S. economy;
- promotes the stability of the financial system and seeks to minimize and contain systemic risks through active monitoring and engagement in the U.S. and abroad;
- promotes the safety and soundness of individual financial institutions and monitors their impact on the financial system as a whole;
- fosters payment and settlement system safety and efficiency through services to the banking industry and the U.S. government that facilitate U.S.-dollar transactions and payments; and
- promotes consumer protection and community development through consumer-focused supervision and examination, research and analysis of emerging consumer issues and trends, community economic development activities, and the administration of consumer laws and regulations.
Economic Research, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides consumers, students, economists, and financial institutions with economic and financial information in an easy-to-use format. FRED® Economic Data provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments, and regional economic data for Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee. See other areas of web site for: Data Tools, Publications, Working Papers, Economists and more.
Main Economic Indicators
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Links to individual economic indicators for countries worldwide.
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
FRASER™
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
more...less...
Providing economic information and data to the public is an important mission for the St. Louis Fed started by former St. Louis Fed Research Director Homer Jones in 1958. FRASER began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004 and now provides access to data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve System and many other institutions.

Page One Economics, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Economic Education Program
Each issue provides a simple, short overview of a current economic event that offers students an opportunity to use close reading strategies.

Government Agencies

Associations and Organizations

American Economic Association (AEA)
Associations & Societies, EDIRC International List
Council of Economic Advisors (CEA)
The CEA was established by the Employment Act of 1946 to provide the President with objective economic analysis and advice on the development and implementation of a wide range of domestic and international economic policy issues.
Economic History Society
Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers
There is an amazing number of economics institutions. This is an attempt by Christian Zimmermann (Economic Research Department, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis) to index them. Currently 14,867 institutions in 232 countries and territories are listed.
Financial Management Association International
The International Economic History Association (IEHA)
National Association of Economic Educators (NAEE)
National Bureau of Economic Research
National Economic Association (NEA)
National Economists Club

Recommended Websites

11 Global Debates, Celebrating 10 years of the Global Economy and Development program.
Brookings Institution, Oct. 5, 2016. The Global Economy and Development program has become a source of innovative thinking on how to improve global economic cooperation and fight global poverty and sources of social stress.
11 Global Debates: #7 - GDP growth — is it “good enough” or does it distort policymaking? Income plus well-being: New measures of human progress.
Experts are realizing that GDP is not a sufficient tool for measuring prosperity and well-being and that, since people rarely behave as “rational actors,” we may need to give subjective well-being measures more due. With rapid technological change, key variables in GDP like cars and factories are over-weighted, while cell phones and green technologies are under-weighted.
more...less...
Carol Graham, Leo Pasvolsky Senior Fellow and Research Director - Global Economy and Development
Baby Boomers vs. Millennials Through Monetary Policy? Economic Insights.
Economic Insights (Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia) : Fourth Quarter 2020, Volume 5, Issue 4.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Nonpartisan analysis of the economy for the United States Congress
more...less...
Since 1975, the CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation. CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation
CPS, Current Population Survey
A joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Bureau of the Census.
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years. The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population.
Econbrowser
A blog focusing on analysis of current economic data and government policy.
Economic Historic Services
Includes a wealth of information, including the EH.net Encyclopedia for quality reference articles in the field written by experts and How Much Is That?, a place where you can ask questions of comparative value covering purchasing power, exchange rates, and other variables between the past and today.
Economic Indicators, United States Census Bureau
Economic Research, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Employment and Unemployment, U.S. Department of Labor
Few economic data are as closely watched as measures of employment and unemployment. The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides a broad range of statistics covering jobs and joblessness.
Hutchins Center on Fiscal and Monetary Policy at the Brookings Institute
Provides independent, non-partisan analysis of fiscal and monetary policy issues in order to further public understanding and to improve the quality and effectiveness of those policies.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Main Economic Indicators
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Links to individual economic indicators for countries worldwide.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
Nobel Prize in Economics
Tax History Project, Tax Analysts
The Tax History Project was established by Tax Analysts in 1995 to provide scholars, policymakers, students, the media, and citizens with information about the history of American taxation. The project pursues its mission through a program of web-based documentary publication and original historical research.
Tax Policy Center (TPC)
The Tax Policy Center (TPC) is a joint venture of the Urban Institute and Brookings Institution. The Center is made up of nationally recognized experts in tax, budget, and social policy who have served at the highest levels of government.
U. S. Economy Reports, Brookings Institution
Visit other sections of the Brookings website, including Global Development, International Affairs, and the Economic Development area under "Cities and Regions."

Library of Economics and Liberty

The Library of Economics and Liberty is dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty. The website offers a unique combination of resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought, including:
• Monthly featured articles and columns; • Archives of full text articles; • Weekly economics podcasts and blogs; • Authoritative editions of classics in economics; • Definitions and explanations of economics terms and ideas via the Concise Encyclopedia of Economics; • Frequently updated guides to reading suggestions, annotated bibliographies, links to the most commonly-used economics data bases, institutions & journals, and other educational resources organized by topic and educational level.

Economics Web Search

Economics Search Engine (ESE) uses a beta version of Google Custom Search Engine to search over 23,000 economics websites and utilizes yolink to mine results and retrieve actionable, keyword-rich content. Results can saved to Google Docs, bookmarked or shared via major social networks. Each site is certified by RFE, which is run by economists.

RFE, Resources for Economists on the Internet
American Economics Association. Editor: Bill Goffe, Dept. of Economics, Penn State University.