LibGuides: MLA 9th Citation Guide: Magazine Articles

Magazine Article From a Library Database - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. page numbers. Name of Database.

Works Cited List Example

Weinstein, Becca. "Trying Before Buying." Psychology Today, May-June 2012, pp. 46-47. ABI/INFORM Global.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Weinstein 46)

Note: While MLA 8th edition recommends including URLs, we recommend that URLs be left out when citing a work found in a library database. Library databases require a login causing most URLs to stop working after the session ends.

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name, and Third Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. Name of Database.

Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

Works Cited List Example

Bosch, James Vanden, and David Crump. "Divorce and the Congregation." Books and Culture, Mar.-Apr. 2012, p. 22. Academic OneFile.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Bosch and Crump 22)

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Unknown Author

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. Name of Database.

Note: If the author is unknown, begin the citation with the title of the article.

Works Cited List Example

"Canned Soda?" Restaurants and Institutions, 15 Sept. 2005, p. 16. Academic OneFile.

In-Text Citation Example

("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

("Canned")

Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks. This article is only one page, so the page number is not included in the in-text citation.

Magazine Article From a Website

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."Title of Magazine, Date of publication, URL. Accessed access date.

Works Cited List Example

Cosh, Kolby. "Tiny Human Brains Threaten Giant Dinosaur Bones in Alberta." Macleans, 25 July 2012, www.macleans.ca/news/canada/a-blight-at-the-museum. Accessed 13 June 2016.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name)

(Cosh)

Magazine Article in Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers.

Works Cited List Example

Loney, Sydney. "Family Fare." Today's Parent, Jan. 2012, pp. 59-61.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Loney 59)

Magazine Article in Print - Two Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers.

Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

Works Cited List Example

Ainsworth-Vincze, Cameron, and Josh Dehass. "Where Do I Belong?" Macleans, 22 Nov. 2010, pp. 58-59.

In-Text Citation Example

(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Ainsworth-Vincze and Dehass 58)

Magazine Article in Print - Unknown Author

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers.

Works Cited List Example

"Outsmart Your Cravings." Prevention, 30 Jan. 2008, p. 45.

In-Text Citation Example

("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

("Outsmart" 45)

Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.

In-Text Citation For Two or More Authors/Editors

Number of Authors/Editors	In-Text Citation Example
Two	(Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number) Example: (Case and Daristotle 57)
Three or more	(Author's Last Name et al. Page Number) Example: (Case et al. 57)

Number of Authors/Editors

In-Text Citation Example

Two

(Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Case and Daristotle 57)

Three or more

(Author's Last Name et al. Page Number)

Example: (Case et al. 57)

How to Cite When You Have Three or More Authors

If you have three or more authors cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name Middle Name followed by a comma et al.

Example: Smith, James, et al.