Start with Reference Books/Resources - ENG 060 - Wells - Spring 2024

Reference Resources

Don't start with Wikipedia and/or Google! Begin with a published reference book/resource!

Reference Resources are the best places to find concise summaries and background information on a topic. Physical copies of reference books cannot be checked out of the library. Some of them are available as databases or ebooks. Remember, these are subscription resources that require a sign on with the STLCC ID and password.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books.
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Issues and Controversies covers more than 800 topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly, with links to a 12-year back-file.

Help Guide
System Requirements
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.

Help FAQs
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Help videos

Articles from Reference Ebooks

School Uniforms, ProCon
School uniforms. (2018). In ProCon.org (Ed.), Procon. ProCon. Credo Reference:
Homeschooling, Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
Source: Chapman, R. (2013). Homeschooling. In R. Chapman, & J. Ciment (Eds.), Culture wars in America: An encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices (2nd ed.). Routledge. Credo Reference
Public Schools, The Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Source: Kenny, L. W. (2004). Public schools. In C. K. Rowley, & F. Schneider (Eds.), The encyclopedia of public choice. Springer Science+Business Media. Credo Reference.