Deaf Communication

Use ArcherSearch to find the widest range of videos from the STLCC library collections, including DVDs at the campus libraries and streaming videos from our largest video and film databases.

To limit your results to just videos, start by entering your search terms below. Once your results appear, click All filters, then scroll through the menu to find Source type, and select Videos.

Or go directly to one of the streaming media databases.

for more titles, type deaf or American Sign Language in the Search it! box on the Library homepage https://www.stlcc.edu/libraries/ and limit search results to DVDs or Video cassettes (see left sidebar)

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be viewed in their entirety or by segment, making them ideal for presentations. You can create a private and free user account to keep track of favorites and playlists. The FOD and other databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).

NOTE: You can use the Advanced search feature in this database to limit your search results to closed-captioned programs.

Deaf Video TV at http://www.deafvideo.tv/                                                                                     Videos in ASL and British Sign Language (most culled from YouTube)

DeafRead Vlogs (video blog posts) at http://www.deafread.com/vlogs/

NOTE: YouTube is a classic example of one of the strengths and weaknesses of the Internet, which is the fact that anyone can post videos. As such, the quality and scholarly acceptability of videos varies greatly. There may be useful video clips on YouTube, but you must EVALUATE them for authority and relevance. Before referencing any material from YouTube (or other video sites on the Internet) in a paper or using a clip in a presentation, though, it is highly advisable to check with your instructor concerning the acceptability of the video for the assignment.